Sydney.....Xmas night cooking, Korma Style!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
December 29th 2006
Published: December 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mrs Macquaries PointMrs Macquaries PointMrs Macquaries Point

Here's the old postcard shot
Nar then, or should I say g'day. It's been a while since my last post so here's what I've been upto the last couple of weeks.

For the first few days we stayed in Kings Cross which is where most of the backpackers tend to stay as it's central and in walking distance from the harbour. It's also the red light distrit, funny how I seem to always end up there! Anyway, the nightlife round there is pretty decent so it made for a decent stay. To get to the Harbour and Opera House you have to walk through the Botanical Gardens or Gothem City as I now call it, as it's full of fruit bats. You can walk through in the middle of the day, sun baking down and they'll be thousands of them hung on the trees, even a few flying around. They also have cockatoos belting around the joint and they make a screeching noise like a bleading banshee! It's weird seeing birds like that flying around in the park when you're used to sparrows and the occasional Amazonian Parrot back home.

The other day we set sail for Taronga Zoo which is a short ferry's
Xmas dayXmas dayXmas day

Supping on Manly Beach
ride away. It crosses the main harbour so you get excellent view of the Bridge and Opera House so well worth the 6 dollars. It's quoted as been the 'best located zoo in the world' so it had a lot to live upto. You get a fantastic view over the harbour, particularly when you're watching the bird show there. It was a lot better than the last zoo I went to in Vienna, mainly cos I didn't have to wear arctic gear to wander around!

For the last week or so we've been staying in North Curl Curl in Mick's flat. He's one of the lads' uncle and agreed to let us kip there for a bit as accomodation round this time of year is ridiculous. There's a decent beach nearby although most of our time here has been spent at Manly as there's a lot more life there. The beach is spot on and there's a ton of shops/restaurants/boozers all along the front. Watched the cricket the other day in a nice little place, pity our batsmen can't hit a donkeys arse with a banjo. 4 zip down eh, hopefully we'll be able to get tickets to the
Sydney Opera HouseSydney Opera HouseSydney Opera House

View from the ferry
last test in Sydney to watch us stop a whitewash although I'm not too confident!

I spent Xmas day on Manly beach soaking up the sunshee-iiine and supping a few tooheys(see photo). Makes a change from spending the day watching the Queen make her speech, although I did miss the traditional turkey. I ended up cooking a chicken korma in the dark as there was a power cut. Still my cooking was upto scratch and I managed a half decent meal, just goes to show all that time slaving away at the stove down London did me no harm!

Appartantly Paris Hilton was at Bondi Beach yesterday. I was there a few days before doing a spot of people watching as they call it over here. I bet she's gutted she missed me! Still she's meant to be out and about for a a few week's "promoting" local beer so you never know who I might bump into new years eve. It's only a few days away and it's the Harbour Bridges 75th anniverary so they've promised some extra special fireworks this year. Hopefully I'll not be overly blind so I can remember what went on!

Hopefully
Sydney Harbour BridgeSydney Harbour BridgeSydney Harbour Bridge

Looks like the one in Newcastle
I'll be heading to the Blue Mountains and the Hunter Valley after new years so watch this space. I'll whip the pictures on here if I do.

Hope everyone has a great new year and remember to drink responsibly (i.e. no pints of wine at the end of night) Not mentioning any names.......

JP



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

SydneySydney
Sydney

Skyline from the ferry
Taronga ZooTaronga Zoo
Taronga Zoo

Some sort of long necked horse
Taronga ZooTaronga Zoo
Taronga Zoo

"What thar looking at?"
Taronga ZooTaronga Zoo
Taronga Zoo

Two monkeys in a bath, one says to the other, "uh uh, ah ah ah". The other says, "if it's that hot, put some cold in!".......I'm here all week
Taronga ZooTaronga Zoo
Taronga Zoo

View from the bird show arena


29th December 2006

Not jealous at all
Supping lager in 80C heat on Bondi Beach - don't make me laugh. What could be better than strutting round Meadowhall when its pissing down outside and a cool 6C in the shade. Who's jealous? Al tell thi who - me lad. Hope you got the lighting sorted and on New Year's Eve don't go overboard with the booze until after midnight. I've heard that the firework display on Sydney Harbour Bridge is the best in the world so you need a bit of a clear head to remember it. Mama was disappointed she missed your phone call at Christmas - try to get in touch again New Year time although you won't have a prayer on New Year's Eve. Total meltdown of the phone system last year. Anyway, take care son - yet another brilliant blog. Like the "Who thar looking at caption". Si Thi Later. Favva
29th December 2006

How's the Tan?
Eh up Johnnyboy Mum here just read your blog, brill photos and as usual great, really entertaining write-up just like you are telling us face to face. What a different Christmas Day for you think me n your Dad will try that one year, sat on a beach supping a beer, beats turkey and freezing cold weather any day.Missed talking to you, but heard you talking when you were on the phone to your Dad so knew you were okay. Nan sends her love says she is missing talking to you so please try and phone her she'll be chuffed to bits. Been a funny Christmas without you, your Grandad and Nan Pierrepont, but looking forward to a new year, here's to 2007. Take care Son and keep the great photo's and journal's coming, love you John speak to you soon XXXX Mum
2nd January 2007

Not at all jealous
Trevster has just forwarded me your latest blog and I'm reading on my first morning back at the old factory. Sounds like you are having a great time, have a few tinnies for me while I get back into the work mode
5th January 2007

hola
hope all is well lad, just finishing off my first week back to work. Like i've never been away. If I win a rather substantial amount of money on the lottery this week i'll join you in oz. Hope you're not getting too much piss ripped out of you for the ashes whiooping we received. Have a few southern comforts and lemonade for me lad.

Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1016s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb