Sculpture by the Sea


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Sculpture by the Sea
November 19th 2006
Published: November 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sculpture By the SeaSculpture By the SeaSculpture By the Sea

The almost winning entry!!

November 15th - Sculpture by the Sea


This is just the kind of thing that Australians do well. Its sunny, its the weekend and thousands of Sydneysiders and tourists flock to Bondi, not for the beach (no I went there after 😊) but for a massive exhibition of sculpture along the coastal walk from Bondi to Tamarama. And thes best thing about it is that it all free! Some of the sculptures were very random but some were very good. You can have a look at the website here:
Sculpturebythesea

The event was sponsored by Kodak and you could develop your photos of the day for free there and at the same time enter a photography competition, which I did and I got selected as a finalist and in the running to win $2000, a new digital camera and the photo published in the Sydney Morning Herald (a bit like the Times I guess)! Extremely exiciting, on a backpacker budget or not. So fingers crossed.

Going out with a friend from work for dinner tonight (Helena & Jaz - its at the Slip Inn!) then Luna Park a fairground across the harbour on Friday night then a house party on Saturday. So I've certainly not been sitting in the house twiddling my thumbs!

November 19th


I am getting brown at last! Weather has been this weekend for a change (is it me or do I only seem to talk about the weather in my blogs!!) and spent most of it on Bondi Beach (I can see so many people stop reading right there as it tips it down with rain outside in England)..... I did win the photo comp which was obv a little disappointed about but am still well chuffed to have been picked in the first place!

Went to a house party on Sat night at my friend Sandra's, it was kind of a belated Halloween party and most people really dressed up, a little scary at times. I dont know if my house mate Imad really got it as he commented to me "that guy really looks like Borat"....yes thats because he is meant to. But as you can see from the photo, the moustache is actually real. Out here they having "Movember" where guys grow a moustache and get sponsored to raise money for cancer. Some of the guys in the office are doing it and as the month goes on I keep noticing more and more guys around the city. The men of Sydney are certainly not looking their best at the moment. But a really good way of raising money for a very good cause. Hayles you should get people to do it at home. You can check out the website at:
Movember Website

Anyway the party was cool, glad I left before the police turned up at 5am to get them to turn the music down! It totally felt like I was at some kind of American fraternity party! Hope you enjoy the photos! Not much other news really. Only two and half weeks of work left which am VERY glad about, am really looking forward to going to NZ and catching up with all the family.

Oh and Helena and Jaz, the Slip Inn was good as ever still have the$5 dinners but steaks are now $6.50 I guess even the Slip Inn has to succumb to inflation!








Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Sculpture By the Sea 5Sculpture By the Sea 5
Sculpture By the Sea 5

I love this one! Runny ice-creams!
The coastal walk from BondiThe coastal walk from Bondi
The coastal walk from Bondi

Looking down to Tamarama Beach, a 15 minute walk from my house!
House mates at Neil's gigHouse mates at Neil's gig
House mates at Neil's gig

Sabrina, Sandra, Neil and Me
Belated Halloween PartyBelated Halloween Party
Belated Halloween Party

Yes, I do actually know these people...
Borat and SantaBorat and Santa
Borat and Santa

A weird combination, and yes isn't he convincing!!


19th November 2006

re photo shoot
How wonderful to get so far better luck next time . Not long until Mum arrieves have a wonderful time together, and enjoy each moment, Love F.G.M.
25th November 2006

Re latest blog
Yes hmm Yes hmmmm Always pleased to see your latest photos.Enjoy xx

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb