Sydney Life


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
November 25th 2006
Published: January 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

25th November


Well summer has arrived, finally! Went to the smaller Tamarama Beach today, a lot more chilled, family friendly and less posey than Bondi and you get to it via the fantastic coastal walk from Bondi. I could really get to love this place if weekends were always like this! Last week has been a bit quiet as have been trying to save money for the whole not working in December/Jan thing, I know its a hard life.......doing something serious and settling somewhere? Putting that off till the New Year........

Did go out on Thursday night to Minus 5, an ice bar in Circular Quays, it is the same chain as the one in Queenstown, I know some of you have been there, well I was really ill when I was there so didnt get to go, not thinking I would get to go in SYdney in the middle of summer. It was actually far colder than minus 5, it was I think -27 inside and as such you are only allowed inside for half an hour, of course a complete touristy attraction and as such a bit of a rip off, but it was pretty amazing inside, they
Bondi Icebergs PoolBondi Icebergs PoolBondi Icebergs Pool

I'm sorry but how cool would it be for this to be your local pool, but different to Fareham Leisure Centre eh girlies!!
had ice scupltures that you would of sworn were made of glass they were that good and seats and benches made of ice, with animal skin covers, maybe not one for the vegetarians then.... Of course you couldnt last half an hour in your own clothes so they give you a massive jacket with furry hood, ugg boots (well it is Australia!) and 2 pairs of gloves and thank god they did! Was a.... different night out. see Minus5 Ice Bar

Have also just worked out how to put videos on my blogs so will have to have a go at that before finishing this one...Can't wait to go to NZ now, only have 7 days left (yes am counting) at work

30th November


Only 3 days of work left!!!!!!!! Am just a little bit excited. Went to a Hare Krishna vegetarian restaurant in the charming area of Kings Cross, last night (surprisingly tasty, although I just couldnt give up bacon sandwiches!) which has a boho type cinema upstairs with instead of chairs they have bed with loads of cushions! Just what you need after stuffing yourselves downstairs (Jaz and Helena you may have guessed it was Govindas!).

Not much more news so a few observations I have made of Sydney:
1. They LOVE the cricket here, the Ashes is far more popular here than it is at home, they have erected massive screens in Bondi Junction and by the harbour so you see a lot of suits watching it at lunch! The other day on the side of the bus it actually said "The Poms are going to choke". They are not loving us here!
2. Australians are obssessed with Harrods, I would estimate 1 in 10 in Sydney carry their lunch to work in a Harrods bag. Is it just to prove they have been overseas? Who knows.
3.Australia weather is not all sunshine and light, its nearly December and last night I was still going out wearing jeans and a jumper. (Just added that one in to make all my Pommie friends feel better!)

4th January


I wrote this blog ages ago and never really finished it but thought you would all like to see the photos!




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Rock formationRock formation
Rock formation

On the cooastal walk from Bondi to Tamarama
The waves at BondiThe waves at Bondi
The waves at Bondi

A little too rough my surfing lessons for me!
Sandra, Suzi and me at the Moonlight cinemaSandra, Suzi and me at the Moonlight cinema
Sandra, Suzi and me at the Moonlight cinema

This moonlight cinema is fab its every week until March and you can take a picnic and the film starts at sundown. You can hire the very comfy beanbag bed I'm on and that night they were giving away free beer. It cant get much better!


Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 16; qc: 64; dbt: 0.1089s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb