January 19th


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Newtown
January 20th 2009
Published: January 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Newtown, Australia - January 19th - 8:00pm
I woke up this morning to my cell phone going off. I wasn’t too sure who it was but soon realized it was Pam (my best friend) , calling to give me an update about her Aunt. Things seem to going ok, so it was nice to get the update and actually talk to her to make sure she was dealing with everything ok. I got the typical question from Steve “Do the toilets flush the other way down there?” haha Oh Steve, you never let me down!

Hang in there Aunt Fran! I love you!

I figured I should get ready and head into Newtown to drop off my application. So I slowly got ready as I wasn’t feeling the greatest. I had a slight sore throat but didn’t think much of it. I took a few Kleenex’s and jumped on the train. I had about an hour and a half ride into Newtown and I don’t think I made it more than 30minutes before I had a pounding headache and my nose was running. I should have taken the entire box of Kleenex.

After a little while I eventually got to Newtown, I walked down the street and what I saw was not what I expected. Newtown is not a new town. I ended up walking by the office because it was just an open door with stairs up to the office. I was thinking there is no way this is where the Association of Massage Therapy. I mean the College in Ontario is state of the art and fancy, but I guess that simple explains why the annual fees are cheaper in Australia. I introduced myself to Linda and she remembered me from the emails. She was very nice and informative. She informed me that I was registered it was just a matter of paperwork now. It was very nice to hear and now I can go home and look for jobs. WOOHOO

I figured since I was already there I’d walk around the town for a little, I wasn’t feeling well but I figured I’d walk around anyways. I didn’t make it too far before I had a drug addict begging for something, not much different than any other town so I continued along. Not even another block down I had this homeless guy yelling at a few young people about something or other, he jumped back on his bike and continued to yell things at them. It was rather funny but I figured that was all the time I needed in Newtown. So I walked back up to the train station and got on the train.

I was getting a little hungry but I really didn’t feel like stopping and wasting more time as I was starting to feel even worse. I eventually made it home safe and sound and passed out on the couch. I was exhausted, I tried to catch a power nap but my mind wouldn’t turn off and then Jean came home so I figured that was all I was going to get.

I sat around and talked with her for a bit but needed some sleep, so I went to my sauna (also known as my room) and laid down for a bit but as you could imagine it was too hot so I got up and dealt with the headache.

Jean ended up making dinner for me, she was nice enough to get everything ready maybe because she didn’t want to catch my sickness. So it’s going to be an early night for me.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb