Koalas Bite, Scratch and Fly


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Newtown
July 12th 2005
Published: July 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Me in training to become the Crocodile HunterMe in training to become the Crocodile HunterMe in training to become the Crocodile Hunter

I killed the mother croc with me bare hands and then this is me holding the baby
Hello, hello.

2nd day of international orientation=ho-hum as well. I think we've all had a dramatic crash from the high of traveling (and the incredibleness of the boat trip) to a sort of less...high paced life of the city. It's weird, that Sydney would be less fast-paced than traveling. I don't know. It feels weird to be in one place for so long.

Last night, as we all needed an adventure, we walked down to Newtown, which is a street of restaurants (mostly Asian food) and Karl got massive heaps of Thai food. Janice and I split a fried ice cream, as we had already had free dinner provided by the Women's College. Then we took the bus to Darling Habour, (spelled the british way of course) and walked around the waterfront. It was beautiful, and we played on the playgrounds lining the waterfront, and I learned about cricket from some englishmen watching the Australia v. England cricket game. They were quite drunk, so I don't think they were telling me the whole truth..as they told me the outfielders head the ball so that it lands on the ground and wear bullet-proof helmets.... So..I'll take that cricket lesson with
Fab 4 and Ernie, our Aborginal guide for a hike in the Atherton TablelandsFab 4 and Ernie, our Aborginal guide for a hike in the Atherton TablelandsFab 4 and Ernie, our Aborginal guide for a hike in the Atherton Tablelands

ernie took us through the rainforest and told us about his people
a grain of salt.

Sydney is gorgeous to look at at night, with the lights reflecting on the water. It definitely has it's shabbier places though to avoid, like all cities.

Currently deciding what to do with myself after the trip to the Blue Mountains with the Clarks, who are nice enough to take me with them to limestone caves! It works out splendidly, because I wanted to see the Blue Mountains and the caves, and the Clarks are fun people. So that should be a bit of a recharge of traveling. Yay!

..The Women's College doesn't have central heating, as Sydney doesn't need it most of the year. So for our large, drafty room, we have one small space heater. Well picture a freezing tall (6"4) lanky Karl folded over the heater with a wool blanket draped over him. It happened, I have pictures.

Now we are headed off to the museum.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Some of the Boat PeopleSome of the Boat People
Some of the Boat People

Some of the boat people, when we went out after returning to dry land
Mick and meMick and me
Mick and me

Mick was our dive instructor, a Swiss army dude who rocked. "Safe is safe." "Calm down, it's just a little sharky"
Tim and meTim and me
Tim and me

Good ol' Tim!
Danes and usDanes and us
Danes and us

Couldn't understand most of what these guys said, but they were cool nonetheless. They took a magnetic backgammon game down to 15 meters beneath the surface of the water to play, and only lost one piece...to a shark
us three on a rock on Magnetic Islandus three on a rock on Magnetic Island
us three on a rock on Magnetic Island

Staring across the craggy isle of Magnetic Island


3rd August 2005

We should play cricket when you get home.

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 60; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb