Rainbow Region rambles & moving on


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Bondi Beach
December 18th 2005
Published: December 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I have left...

*sigh*

I've just realised that amongst all my ramblings herein, I haven't really described the atmosphere and the energy of the people.. but really it is quite unsummable. I would not be doing anyone any favours with attempts to categorise and describe the natures.... Suffice to say there are symbols in the woods, that epitomise the community environment and living lands... Definitely the 'Rainbow Region'. Letterboxes from huge old-fashioned metal milk jugs congregate at the end of long dusty driveways and long, vertical coloured flags hang in the still air... children wear wings and dance with ribbons, mothers cradle their babes in cloth slings and dance together to the beat... we wake and take a swim in the clear waters of the sea then follow breakfast with leafy greens of home grown gardens... ahh this IS the life! 😊

Decemebr 18th
Port Macquarie - Sydney (via Budgiewoi)

Left Sundowner Tourist Park happier and higher than expected by Friday night. I met a camp of guys who, in their country town naivety, really saw me. I was totally humbled by one lad who picked up on my busy busy energy way early on when I was only preparing lunch after my 5 hour vollie shift. A real reminder to just chill out Tamara. So I did 😊 Ended up having a total bliss out Saturday night - after all my volunteer commitments were over I played all day. Then vollied with the Hari’s food stall and dined on their blessed food afterward myself.

So I took it easier than I usually plan and not going to make it to Bondi for the markets after all. The nature of plans is to change perhaps… Really relishing the fresh wake up of the clear ocean, divine cleaning - I’ll so miss this!

Pacific Highway, just out of Buladelah, traffic slows then comes to a complete stop. I’m guessing only 5 minutes prior we lost a few more souls. Did they fall asleep at the wheel? Man, the gore mongers really are thirsty. For as far as the eye could see, cars were backed up, many people walking ahead to see what they can see see see. Some, as always, apathetic, in total denial of the situation, continue to idle their V8’s in the scorching sun an hour past noon. A two hour, 40km crawl detour via Booral followed. Sure I’m curious what happened too but I’m not sure I’d wanted to have seen the carnage myself. A fair reminder enough, I have felt that adrenalin when ‘awoken’ by my angels from too long a sleepy blink or a corner taken too fast.

How the landscape changes so much heading south of Port Macquarie. I don’t want to be heading home already. Part of me does have the desire to continue free roaming into the unknown… It’s only in one of those down moments where I feel so totally drained and exhausted by the experience and long for comfort and ease of ‘home’ of four walls etc. But really, how can I even imagine going back to that??


Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0886s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb