Basking amongst the blues


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Blue Mountains
December 19th 2005
Published: December 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

the country spiritthe country spiritthe country spirit

a spot of light in the outback
December 19th
Sydney (Bondi) > Woodford (beginning of Blue Mountains)

Another lazy internet morning. Heading out to Blue Mountains any minute now, after a spot of second hand shopping in Sydney’s Newtown. This is the eclectic scene of the inner burbs. Trying reminders on my independence and loss of it. Sweet reminders on enjoying the journey rather than just focusing on the destination. Thank you W for your What a day my oh my. All I can say is make sure you read the parking signs very clearly. Short of it all for me was $175 ‘stopped in a clearway zone’+ $145 towing fee and I eventually located my car. The man at the RTA was actually very helpful.

-o0o-

“You can’ get lost if you’ve nowhere to be” Profundity of my year. What a beautiful family.
Really gorgeous to see a family in such adoration of each other and their children, even after 8 years together. Blessings on your newborn EM, L & L 😊

-o0o-

Casually cruised through teeny towns on way to Katoomba, which is larger than I had imagined…So many B&B sandwich boards lining the roads. An old mining town, from early-mid 1800’s, complete with red brick homes up high and English style tudor frontages. The Blue Mountains’ main tourist town yet it has been kept pretty well to the scenic lookout areas so the town itself is pretty laid back and homely 😊


December 20th
Woodford > ‘Shiny tumbling waters’, Katoomba.

Falls, falls and more falls: 2 (but more mountains). And I thought northern NSW had so many falls and national parks. Katoomba appears to be just one lookout after another!! $375 parking fine for stopping in a disabled permit zone without displaying permit. I did too!!! *sigh* Honestly, here’s proof how people walk around with their eyes closed.

Scenic world: 2 cables & 1 rail car journey over and down into the mountains for our viewing pleasure. Just a bit of a rip off at $8 for a 1-3 minute ride, but I happily manifested a freebie by being in the right place at the right time when some lovely fellow offered me an extra ticket he had, just as I was about to purchase one 😊
Photographs with my lil ol digi ricoh just don't do the terrain any justice, and neither do my words for that matter, so rather than plaster lousy photos, just be assured of the beauty of the land 😊 Twas all nice enough but with the sun above the tall tree tops, my body wasn’t fooled, heat fatigue eventually dampening my energy but all was good.

December 21st
Katoomba > Blackheath

Anvil Rock = Awesome. Totally. Like jaw dropping mesmerising. So happy to be in Australia sometimes!

Back in the quiet townly home streets of Blackheath, there’s one daredevil house who has screamed to the world it’s Christmas! His front yard is totally decked out as Santa Land snow, snow men, reindeer and all - and not without Santa and his sleigh. Tacky as all hell but also a sickly sweet spot of sunshine in an otherwise nowhere black backroad.

Found myself a gorgeous little spot I did, down by a creek below a mainish road, but quite a lovely spot really. Back to revelling in my solitude. Oops there I go again, forgetting who I am for many moments there - a weird feeling to wake up to myself.



Advertisement



1st January 2006

love t u
love t you wanderer, miss the days wen we used t chat online,,,but anyway...i jus wanted t wish u happy new yrs an t tell u how beautiful u are, a gorgeous soul in a beautiful life an much love t u girl...take care crazy diamond

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1015s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb