Byron Bay


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
May 23rd 2008
Published: May 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Greetings my friends and family 😊

Manly was cooel....we got the bus to Palm Beach (where Home and Away is filmed) which was rather fun!! 😊 We then had dinner back at Manly....yummy pizza and a chocolate fondue with strawberries!!! :D We needed comfort food as I was wearing a dress after being told it was gonna be a scorcher of a day and then it raining!!! It was soooooo amazing to see the Bridge and Opera House from the water, nice to have a different perspective of these immense structures! :P

On Sunday Sonal missed her flight so we went to an AFL game together!!haha It was organised by her hostel (YHA) and it was just $30 for the ticket, transport to and from the game, a free hat, a free alcoholic beverage and we also got a free Australia Post goodie bag which provided us with these blow up sticks to bash together!!haha The seats we had were amazing too!! 6 rows back right behind the goal posts!! As soon as I can I shall provide you all with some photographic footage of the event :P was soooooooo much fun though....and we got to go onto the pitch after the game which was an added bonus! The teams playing were Sydney Swans and Essendon (A Melbourne team) Sydney won which was good as that was the team on our free hats!!hehe

In the evening I went out to The Gaff for a free roast and quiz night....we came second in the quiz winning a $50 bar tab!!!! was a great night!!!!hehe

Monday was rather fabby as I went up the Harbour Bridge Pylon (free as I had a coupon from my climb!!) It was really extremely interesting.....I saw the city from great heights again and there were displays on how the bridge was built and who was involved etc..... I found it all really fascinating and have decided the story of how it was built and the people would make a fantastic film! In the evening I went to the Opera House to see Jerome Robbins - A Celebration, which is a series of 4 pieces of ballet choreography by the late Jerome Robbins (who also choreographed West Side Story) It was truely amazing and soooo cool to be watching it at the Opera House!! I found the more comic ballets the most entertaining, but loved every single bit of the performance in general!!! A modern version of Hamlet is going to be on when I go back to fly to Auckland so I think i'm going to go back and see that....sounds rather fabby!! :D

On Monday night I had my night bus to Byron Bay.......the journey was OK....hardly anyone on the bus so I could spread out :D!!yay!!

Upon arrival in Byron I went to the hostel and then hit the beach straight away!!! Was a beautiful day all in all!! In the evening I crazily saw some guys that I met at Neighbours night in Melbourne checking into my hostel!!! Yay people!! We hung out for a wee bit in the bar and then headed to Cheeky Monkeys to meet James (the guy on Oz experience I met in Sydney) and some other people he had met on the bus! Cheeky's isn't that great but it's the people that make the night so we had fun regardless!!haha

On Wednesday I went to Nimbin which was interesting!!haha It';s basically like Glastonbury for those of you who don't know about it :P Although a lot smaller!! 1 street and 500 residents to be precise!!hehe.....full of hippies and weed.....a really cute town (well street) though. On the way to Nimbin we stopped at a waterfall with a swimming hole at the bottom....I decided against jumping in as it was rather too cold to be doing such things!!hehe 2 crazy guys did though! hmmm not sure if they regretted it or not :P We also stopped to have a BBQ for lunch at a cute parky place....right next to the resevoir that holds Byron's drinking water too!!hehe that was kinda cool to see 😊 Nimbin was a cool place to visit and the museum was crazy!! (Auntie H will know what I mean :Phehe)

Wednesday night was rather a big one.....especially considering the fact that I wasn't goign to drink!! We went to Cheekys again as it does cheap meals and I had a voucher for it!! Then the guys bought me a drink even though I protested......so I drank it!!lol Ended up doing a lot of dancing which was really fun and then went back to the hostel and slept!!

Yesterday I went surfing which was fun! I STOOD UP TOO!!! YAY!!! The weather was sooooo abd though, but I guess as we were in the sea it didn't matter that it rained!!hehe There was an amazing rainbow too...really clear against the imposing blacky grey sky, and there was a reflection of it above it too!! ashame I couldn't get a picci but I was in the sea!!haha I did get a wee bit cold but had a fantastic day all in all....I was supposed to go again today but cancelled as I can feel myself getting a prickly throat and feeling a bit ill and I REALLY don't want that, so i'm recoooperating whilst writing to you guys :P!! It's a real shame to waste the money, but never mind! In the evening yesterday I went to see Indiana Jones with the boys.....was really rather good....definately reccomendable, and seeing as it was raining it was the perfect activity to do!!hehe After the film we went to Coco's for a change from Cheeky's....it was actually DEAD in there....we were the only people there for a while!!haha We did get free entry and a free drink (I say drink...try 1/2 a shot in a cocktail!!)haha It was cool though and really tasted rather nice!! We went back to the hostel and I decided to go to bed as I was feeling quite exhausted after my surfing adventure!!

Today so far I have cancelled my surfing lesson and am now writing to you lovely people back home!! The weather is quite unpredictable atm.....it'll rain and then be really sunny so it's hard to decide on an outfit!!hehe I'm off to Surfer's Paradise for a night tomorrow and then onto Brisbane on Sunday 😊 The guys I met in Melbourne are doing the same too so it's good to have people I know in the same place as me!! 😊

Anyways I shall now leave you lovely people to go and eat some luncheon!! (Egg and carrot sandwich! seriously its good...try it!!)

LOVE YOU ALL TREMENDOUSLY AND MISS YOU LIKE CRAZY!! (not enough to stop having the BEST time EVER though :P)

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0711s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1016.3kb