Surfers and Barrington


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Barrington Tops
November 22nd 2006
Published: November 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm up!I'm up!I'm up!

and I'm smiling!
Tue
So 7 am pickup with first stop being Surfers Paradise were Stinger our driver let us walk down to the beach and we said goodbye to Kat and Eleni and Eugen. Then we stopped at Byron Bay where we picked up Sten and then onto Surf camp. We had a lesson that afternoon and got taught how to stand up on the board first on the sand and then out to waist deep to try it out. I managed to stand on my first attempt and then took a long time to do it again.

Wed
The morning was spent back out on the waves, it was hard work but lots of fun. In the end there was just Karen and I and 2 other girls and the last wave of the morning all 4 of us stood up and rode in together! Unfortunately the camera lady had gone!
Back in the bus at mid day to drive to Barrington. At dusk we walked down the river which was beautiful but to top it of we cause see the platypuses swimming under the surface of the river. Couldn’t see them clearly but it was cool to know they were
Surfers ParidiseSurfers ParidiseSurfers Paridise

Heather, Eleni, Me, Eugen, Karen, Kat, Lynn
there.
There was a very impressive thunder storm and then at about 10pm I went white water rafting down the river (obviously in the dark). Because of the bugs we did the calm bits with out lights of which was beautiful with the stars over head. We turned the torches on for the white water but you still couldn’t see a lot. I got stuck on rocks quite a lot but didn’t fall in. The water was fairly warm but the outdoor hot tub after was definitely appreciated.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Surf campSurf camp
Surf camp

Karen adn I are the 5th adn 6th from the right!
Karen and I Karen and I
Karen and I

taking a rest
Karen Karen
Karen

looking like a pro
I did itI did it
I did it

Surfed all the way to shore!
BarringtonBarrington
Barrington

Just like home, but with platypuses swimming in the river.


28th November 2006

P latypuss envy
Hello Tamsin - we don't seem to have communicated for a while. Glad you liked Gran's comments. (it was her birthday on 22nd). Very envious of you seeing platypuss in the wild. Dad said yo are all alone in Perth. Didn't you get in contact with Sophie's bloke? And what about Dimitri's brother? Miss you. xxxx

Tot: 0.346s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 66; dbt: 0.2161s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb