My Sore India Chicken


Advertisement
Published: January 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Holding The LemonHolding The LemonHolding The Lemon

We found a lemon on the drive, strange place to find a Lemon
DAY 434


When I woke this morning I immediately had that feeling hanging over me, the one that when you just want to get something over and done with but the feeling lies deep in your stomach just like you are about to be heading for the firing squad!

Well today I have my interview, the first interview that I will have had for 3 years and just like a friend of mine suggested to me recently it would be like having a month of Sundays or a month of that Monday morning feeling in just one hit. I don’t think she is wrong.

One thing about going for an interview it never gets any easier, though some are more difficult than others, it depends on how many people are going to interview you and what type it is. I have suffered in the hands of those day long assessment interviews and yet other interviews that you think go badly actually turn out quite well.

However, whichever way you look at it the nerves are always a healthy thing, it keeps the adrenalin flowing that keeps you on your toes!

So my morning is spent reviewing my CV and doing one big re write, everyone wants something a little different, so I have lost track of how many different versions that I have right now. It was after a while that I realised that my CV really needs a complete re write, so it will need a lot more time spent on it.

Andy needed to go out late morning to see another agency, so I went along to navigate and sat in the car to finish my CV off while Andy was in with the agency. It was quite warm so I sat with the car door open to take advantage of the cool breeze what little of it there is anyway.

What amazed me most is out of the whole car park, mine had to be the only door open yet it was the only way that people wanted to walk through, including one lady pushing a wheel chair wanted to get past, I have no idea why people were drawn to the open door when there were plenty of other places for them to walk through.

Eventually Andy returned, we headed back to the house and had some lunch, at 2.00 I was suitably dressed and ready to go, the afternoon had heated up, the sun was shining we headed off back towards the city and found where we needed to go with relative ease.

We arrive at the car park in plenty of time, with the afternoon crowning the day, this morning was dull but now it is bright and very warm a beautiful afternoon.

I had already been warned that the parking was quite bad around there during the daytime and they were not wrong, so Andy’s job was to drop me off and drive round to park and wait.

Andy is very particular about things, as we had plenty of time for me to sit and stew before my interview, he suggested that I walk over the reception area of the building we were parked outside just to make sure this was exactly the correct place to be, as if it wasn’t! Had I walked over 10 minutes before my allotted interview I would be under even greater pressure to find out exactly where I was to go.

I wander over with the time on my hands and find out this is the place then walk back to the truck where Andy is waiting, now he knows we are in the right place he can settle in to his book.

So, I am not going to fill you in from there, we will just have to wait and see really, so watch this space, it would be nice to get some work right now, but if it does not happen then it is not meant to be.

We get back and dress down into more civilised shorts and t-shirt, Andy and I fancy going out for a curry, Lauren is out, we ask Susan but she does not want to come, so Andy looks on the internet and we choose a place to go in Belconnen which is just a few minutes drive from here.

We find a nice modern Indian Restaurant, the menu is South Indian so not quite the curries that we would normally see on the menu. Andy had a dish called a Mysore Chilli Chicken I think he soon found out why, it was a madras hot curry, not as hot as Madras that we get in England but still very hot. I had the Kerala chicken, which was cooked in coconut milk, both curreies were something a little bit different for us, it is an award winning curry house and I do agree it was good, but I was soon full up and left some of it.

We got back quite early, as wepulled up on the drive there is a huge lemon just sitting there, who had lost it and where had it come from, we were puzzled.

We go in to the house and Susan is cooking her second Pizza, she told us tha she was not very hungry??, but hey she probably just didn't want come and eat out with us, we ask her if she has lost a lemon and she tells us that there isa Lemon trees just on th ecorner of the drive way, so the mystery is solved.

We settled down to watch a film with Whoopi Goldberg, I then sat and read for a while before we headed to bed, which for us was actually quite late at 11.15.

I feel a bit down at the moment, I am sure you are not going to feel too sorry for me, but it is an odd feeling and when I say I am feeling down I don’t mean miserable but I guess just not feeling upbeat and energetic.

We have had the most amazing trip, but knowing that it is going to have to stall for a while feels quite hard, it is that coming down to earth with a bump feeling, I just want to get over that next hurdle of getting a job, doing the job, getting back into the swing of things and then looking forward to what happens next! I guess also because we are not very busy with travelling and sightseeing you get more time to think about things, which is when you start to think more about life back in England and how much you miss everyone.

There is so much more to explore, we still need to do Alice Springs, a few months work means that the winter will be heading this way and Alice Springs might be a bit cooler, no way do we want to do that during the summer months, way too hot.

So that’s it folks for today, we will hopefully speak again tomorrow.


Advertisement



17th January 2010

Poor Caroline - fancy having to work for a living!! I've got my fingers crossed for you...and I'm sure you'll get the job. Still, it must be a shock to the system after a wonderful year on the road. Andy, I don't know the 5-storey place you're talking of in Dublin, I'm afraid. The pub I visited is just a pub on one level, and, sensibly, I didn't go on a pub crawl! (The town has got so expensive now since they adopted the Euro). Mell used to live there, though, so she'd be the person to ask.. :)
18th January 2010

Shock to the System
Hi, I cannot express truly how nervous I am at the thought of getting back to work, it will be a shock to the system but sadly a necessar evil, however the benefits will be that we will be able to move on again after a while so fingers crossed. In Dublin remember Bewleys, I did not do a pub crawl, but I remember Bewleys made Guiness toffees, they were rather nice! Take care Mrs KJ

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0743s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb