Morning Has Broken


Advertisement
Published: January 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

DAY 435


Ahh, Saturday Morning, I was up nice and early this morning, which gave me my precious quite time to sit and watch the World News on Sky & CNN and also do a bit of blog work, don’t get me wrong, I am not falling into the trap of domesticity, it is just we have the availability of a TV and whilst here like to watch the world news and catch up on what is happening.

The mornings for me are my very best time of the day, back home if I ever had a letter, or email to write that was important then it would always be done first thing in the morning.

Equally I am not one of these people who drag their feet around in the morning, grumpy and non communicative, I wonder why these people don’t enjoy mornings, especially when you have woken up in places around Australia that have been so beautiful when the sun came up it took you breath away.

Anyway I digress, sitting here with a cup of tea, the lap top on my lap watching the morning news, well this is perfect for now.

I look on our blog site to see how its all going, its not out of vanity its to respond to messages that we have been sent and to look over the other blog’s that we follow.

I eventually get around to putting fingers on keys and do some blog work, recording what we had done yesterday.

Caroline made an early morning appearance and we made more tea and toast and we were soon joined by Susan, who appeared, with her bicycle helmet, rucksack and disappeared for an early-ish morning bike ride around Lake Burly Griffin.

Caroline and myself just both enjoyed the morning and sat and discussed our future plans, as well as getting some washing in the machine.

Susan arrived back about and hour and a half later, looking exhausted, and started to potter around the house.

I had a job here that needed doing, Susan had promised Belinda, who owns the house that she would take up the carpet and underlay in the study, as underneath is a polished wooden floor, I had been reliably informed that the dogs, Rocky and Misha would be relocated to the study.

If I’m doing a job, I know what I intend on doing and always have a practical plan and ultimately I like to get on with it my way without interruption.

I set about the task and Caroline came in to offer her assistance which was gratefully accepted, and within an hour and a half, all the carpet was up along with the underlay, the gripper rod and staples had been removed from the polished wooded floor.

Susan had got ready to go out as she had an opticians appointment and went out in to Canberra, saying she would be back at about 3.30,we have some lunch and I go off for a well earned snooze in the sun and Caroline pottered around, doing some blog work, some washing and enjoying a bit of TV.

When I resurface I am itching to do something, so as the Patrol is in a right state outside and the inside is very dusty, I set about with a bucket of hot water and some vinegar, I wipe all the inside down and make it, a better environment for us to travel in.

As I am cleaning the truck the thunderheads roll in, the sky goes black, the thunder and lightning very impressively starts and soon the rain is falling from the sky in buckets, both the dogs wander in and take their favourite spots and nod off back to sleep.

I pick up my bucket and go inside, as rain stops play, but this is not too bad as we are off to the pictures soon, in Canberra to see the film “Lovely Bones.”

Susan had just sent us a text that she will not be home in time for the cinema so we need to make our way on our own which is fine.

After a very quick evening meal, we are off into town, parking in the large multi story car park that links directly to the cinema, there are a few spaces left to park so we shoehorn the Patrol into a space and walk across to the cinema.

I am in two minds about the film, there is another Australian film that is doing the rounds called Bran Nu Dae, which is about a group of Aboriginals and Broome, it looks really good, it has Ernie Dingo, yes, that is his real name, who is an Aboriginal actor who I think is brilliant, I think what drew me to him was his amazing name.

When we arrive we ask about Bran Nu Dae, however it seems that the rain has sent everyone into the cinema, and that particular film is full, so we ask about Lovely Bones, which is the one that Caroline really wants to see, we are told that there are plenty if we don’t want to sit together unless we want to sit together in the front row.

So, we decide to take the front row seats, knowing that it would probably be a mistake and sure enough when we sit down and crane our necks to look up at the screen, Caroline seems to be finding it difficult and leans to the side to get a comfortable viewing position, fortunately there is no one in the seat next to us.

The film is excellent, even I manage to shed a tear or two, it is very sad in places and definitely tugs at those heart strings.

Nearly 2 ½ hours later we leave the cinema and head back to Susan’s. She is not there when we get in so we just settle down to watch a bit of TV before going to bed (we were back by 9.30 as we went to an early viewing).

I was watching a documentary about the 70’s singer Cat Stevens, who turned his back on his music success and converted to Islam, he wrote the song “Morning Has Broken.”

In the meantime Susan came back and headed straight off to bed, eventually we did the same,

By now of course it has long stopped raining but the night is nice and cool.


Advertisement



17th January 2010

you never...
respond to my messages! :P Not that I mind, not expecting it, afterall I don't know you personally! Oh and, I thought The Lovely Bones is a really good film too, made me cry! Planning to buy the book soon.
17th January 2010

Bran Nu Dae
Hi guys, good luck with the interview process. Kahls and I went to see Bran Nu Dae yesterday (with some friends who have also done the Australia trip) - it was brilliant. Lots of scenes in the movie we looked at each other and could say we've been there!! You guys would really enjoy it I'm sure. Talk to you soon Jode xx
18th January 2010

Responding....
Hi Stacy, apologies for not responding, nothing personal.... I have been a bit slack on responding to messages generally. :-(( We went to the Junee Liquorice and Chocolate Factory..... I have made a few visits and enjoyed a coffee in that delicious environment. I did not know about their Record breaking liquorice string! I did not see it mentioned anywhere but perhaps they talk about it on the tour, which we have not done. I too have not seen weather like the recent snow fall in England for many years, it seems to have been a rare occurence, but where we live(d) if we had snow fall then the rest of the country was really bad, and mostly when the rest of the country had snow, we had none, we were fortunate to miss it last winter too! I heard that the weather is warming up so hope the snow has gone by now. A belated Happy New Year to you! Caroline
18th January 2010

Bran Nu Dae
looks like this film will be next on the list then Jode! We love seeing the places that we have been to on TV. Speak soon Caroline x
18th January 2010

thanks...
...for the reply! Yep the weather has actually been above 0 degrees C for the past week...feels good to go out without boots, gloves and a scarf on! :-) I won't be wishing for snow again! Oh and good luck with the job hunting, you'll probably have better luck than me...and I've been looking since July :S at this rate I'm gonna be an OAP by the time I get to Australia!!
26th January 2010

Job Hunting
Hi Stacy, 2009 was a bad year for a lot of people I know in England on the work front, fingers crossed that 2010 is a better year for you! Good luck. I heard there would be more snow soon, but hope it does not stay. Caroline

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb