Day 3--Mother's Day


Advertisement
North America
May 21st 2017
Published: May 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Day 3--mother's Day

Woke up to a beautiful sunny day, a cup of coffee, and a Mother's Day card that when opened played Ode To Joy ( although I think it should have played life is a highway )! We had a pretty packed day and so I quickly showered but couldn't get out of the shower stall since there was no handle… Had to yell for Quentin!!
As we set off there was still no sign of wildlife, but I did finally see a tumbleweed but I figured I'd see something since we were going to the Badlands. However in the Badlands I think the only life I'm going to see our fellow travelers. But wait, I did see a deer run in front of the RV or maybe it was an antelope I'm not quite sure . I must say the Badlands vistas are magnificent but obviously no one ( not even Native Americans wanted to hang there -- the whole 30 miles of it ).
Next stop was Wall Drug, which is been here since 1919. Had lunch, walked around and moved on. It's place you definitely want to say Been there,saw it.
After lunch we hit the trail again and what to my wondering eyes did appear was 4 huge heads: you guessed it, Mount Rushmore! It is a sight to behold him and so I did face time with my grandchildren and it was really special to be able to share with them exactly what I was seeing.
After Rushmore we rushed off to the Crazy Horse site whose sculpture won't be finished for at least 50 years. ( since I'll never get to see it completed, I bought a postcard ?. Just thinking about all we did has exhausted me so I am probably going to sign off and meet our traveling companions for drinks… Cheers!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb