Hawaii Day 7 - Waikiki to North Shore


Advertisement
North America
December 9th 2015
Published: December 11th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Again, not much to tell today - my cankle is taking over my holiday..

Woke early with an amazing view of Waikiki.. Which was lucky cause I wasn't going far!! Grant and the boys went and got breakfast and then Grant went for a surf out the front of the hotel.. When he came back I'd hobbled around enough to get our gear packed up and ready to head to the North Shore.. I'd also rang insurance and got some advice on the medical situation. They recommended going to the emergency dept of the hospital so that I could get a consult and an x ray.. If I went to the medical center at the resort I would have been sent to a radiology place which would have just blown out the cost - it costs you $200USD to even see a doctor over here - their health care system is a little different to ours!! Anyway, I got in touch with reception and asked them where they would recommend.. They said that the Sheraton Waikiki has a medical center with a radiologist onsite.. So I went down there after we'd checked out.. Straub Doctors on Call

When I entered they took my license and asked me to fill out 4 pages of paperwork.. I did that and then waited until I was called through doors to triage.. wow.. it was like a mini hospital - I was put in a room and a nurse came in and went through all the vitals - all good.. Had a brief look at the cankle and then asked me to wait for the Doc.. 10 mins or so a lovely Doctor came in and said "Holy Hell, you didn't muck around - straight to X-Ray".. Waited a little while and the radiologist came and took me through to the X-Ray dept - he did three of my foot and two of my ankle - it was quite painful and I had tears running down the cheeks.. he was as gentle as possible but just getting my foot into the awkward positions and laying there thinking "there goes my snorkeling" was making me quite emotional.. He then took me back to the room and I waited for the Doc.. He came through the door and said "absolutely amazing, but I can't see a clear break anywhere - hairline fractures yes, but no break".. So his suggestion was to get me a big boot to support the foot whilst it's still quite swollen, then x-ray again when I get back home. He asked if I had any painkillers and I said I had ibuprofen - he said that wouldn't cut it and gave me some heavy duty stuff.. I needed to give the address where I would be when taking it so it must be a decent dose.. Having said that I'm on them right now and feel a bit woo-hoo in the head..

Anyway.. they fitted the boot and $804 USD later we were out of there..

We went to the Hard Rock Cafe for a late lunch on Kai's request and let me tell you the glass of vino that Grant had pre-ordered after i'd hobbled up the stairs was well received!!



After lunch it was time to hit the North Shore - we drove up - 1 hour 20 or so.. The house is lovely - double story and views out over the beach.. We were there about an hour and then had to head down to Turtle Bay Resort for the Common Kings North Shore Surf Party - meant to be some sort of opening event for the Pipeline Masters ..

The kids ran amok, we had a few bevies, the band was cool and a special guest performance by Makua Rothman (son of big wave legend Eddie that we met on our first trip here).. Was really good, until we were all told to head upstairs and that we could use our unclaimed drink purchases up there.. Ummm.. Liar liar.. staff weren't too helpful with this either.. anyway.. hospitality pig that I am I will let TripAdvisor know about that at some stage!

Home to a couple more bevies on the verandah and it was bed time for this sore duck and the ducklings..

Advertisement



Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb