What a Sweet Day It Is!


Advertisement
North America
February 14th 2013
Published: February 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

On Valentine’s Day, I wasn’t waiting on any hot dates or roses, but something that means a great deal more to me. I was waiting with great anticipation when a yellow jeep pulled into the driveway around 11 a.m. The dogs started barking and I ran out in the 20°F cold in my T-shirt and pajama pants. One of our postal workers is a woman of lacking integrity who prefers to do the bare minimum. She typically pulls halfway down our driveway, honks her horn, and pulls back out without waiting long enough for an Edward Cullen type to make it to her vehicle. So, I sprinted outside because I certainly didn’t want to miss this package!

Two days earlier, I got a call from Hana. She sounded like she was smiling and she told me that my visa would be processed and overnighted that same day! I was so relieved and thanked her profusely for the tenth time. I mentioned that we would be spending weekends in Prague, Dresden, and Vienna. She told me not to waste my time with the castles in Germany, because the one in the Czech Republic were much better. I love her this comment, and assured her that we would do a thorough explanation of the Czech in her honor.

So, after sprinting out to my driveway, I was given two packages. One was my visa. I could feel myself calming now that I had my hands on the completed product of months of frustration and paperwork. The other package was my phone that I bought for the Czech. I bought a pretty, pink Samsung flip phone from Amazon. I learned from experience that a locked phone will not work outside of North America. Also, a bill was just passed that outlaws phone companies from unlocking their phones. So, this little phone is unlocked and should work just about anywhere with different SIM cards.

Because Valentine’s Day was so sweet to me this year, these two packages were not the end of my blessings. I also found a job posting for the job I’ve wanted for the last 5 years. It’s a university job in Japan at Kansai Gaidai that will begin in September of this year. I have decided to apply for this job and hope for the best. Please pray for me that I am able to obtain this position! It would mean that I can start paying back all of my college loans as well as spend more time in Japan.

Valentine’s Day 2013 happened to bring me lots of wonderful gifts. I also received roses from my brother’s ex-girlfriend and a nice card from Ava. Ava received many valentines from her preschool classmates and was very excited about the holiday. I hope that the day was good for all of you as well. Happy Belated Valentine’s Day!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.592s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1977s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb