Landed on the West Coast


Advertisement
North America
June 25th 2012
Published: June 25th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hello friends and lovers,

I have settled in Berkeley. Although I know few people, and am leaving again very soon for a week trip to Tahoe, I feel like I already belong here, that I am in the right place, that each action and hour is projecting me towards my goals. It is liberating to re-craft one’s life. When I make plans, I ask myself “is this who I want to be, what I want to do, or is this just what I’ve been doing out of habit?” and then I can decide with the fullness of my heart. I would rather go to chanting meditation than a bar. I choose a park over a coffee shop. I will not make plans on Friday night, because I already have plans, every Friday night: exploring the rich denominations of the east bay. I will be busy, and by the end of the day, I won’t keep myself awake, on my computer, seeking some final fulfillment– I will already be fulfilled and happy with what my efforts have created, and what I have learned. This is my plan for myself.

Yesterday, I went to the gay pride parade in San Francisco. I was lucky enough to join a group of locals: the day I arrived I mingled with some young adults in the park across the street from my home, and recruited someone to come with me to the parade. He ran into some friends of his, so we had a nice group to wander with, dance with, and take pictures with. It was a wild experience – I had NO IDEA what to expect, and my mind was blown. I was not dressed appropriately at all – I should have been wearing rainbows, and a sequined bra, and a neon wig, and face paint. I suppose I did have the chance to visually join the celebrations, as I kept running into nude pedestrians. Whilst I did have the slight urge to strip down and let my freak side fly, I was with a group of people I had just met – maybe not the best first impression?

On the other hand, when would be a better time to display one’s self than in a city where no-one knows you yet?

The parade itself was a beautiful collection of decorated men and women, and I loved watching so many proud and smiling faces flaunt their sexuality and freedom. The only time that everyone wasn’t shouting and smiling was when a group came by demonstrating against circumcision. The crowd fell silent, and I couldn’t help but ask my new friend his view on the subject. He didn’t really have one (apparently there are a few un-opinionated people in Berkeley – who knew?), but it started me thinking about the issue. After all, this common American practice, and sacred Jewish practice, does involve mutilation of the male body. Perhaps this should be a personal choice? If we find it weird that parents pierce their daughters’ ears before they are old enough to decide, how is circumcision any more ok?

While I doubt that any legislation will be passed on circumcision, I would appreciate your thoughts on the topic.

The other friend I made on Saturday, wandering about the park, is part of a group called Parkour. Parkour is a physical discipline and non-competitive sport that focuses on efficient movement around obstacles. I find the philosophy very similar to rock-climbing, and it seems to attract some fun lovin people! I would prefer to get into the rock-climbing scene here however. I love the sport and the people that love it, and I don’t suck at it, either.

I feel like I am living with a host family, since that is what I’ve called the homes I stayed at in India and Tanzania. Similarly, I am a semi-guest inserting myself into an established family household, filled with its quirks and habits and way of life. Yael has been very generous and welcoming, and I quickly felt at home upon my arrival, the two days. Her two daughters are awesomely adorable. Luli is a vivacious, very vocal 4 year old whirlwind, and Gaby is a thoughtful, poised and good natured 7 year old. The two of them play together constantly, and are very sweet together, although it will take me a while to get used to the high volume of toy-playing!

I think it is a good experience for me to be in charge of cleaning and organizing a household, although for any of you who know my natural lifestyle, quite a challenge as well. Sometimes I run to my room and dump all my stuff on the ground to satisfy my thirst for chaos. But I quickly clean it up, lest Yael discover that I am not the neat, ordered woman that she is.

I suppose I’ll have to find my chaos elsewhere.

Love and light,

Ariel

Advertisement



Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.046s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb