Domestic Violence Leads To Homelessness


Advertisement
North America
October 2nd 2011
Published: October 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

1) I decided to read the article on domestic violence and Homelessness because one of my cousins had faced this. When she got out the abusive relationship she had my parents to turn to, which may not always be the case. As the article said some women don't have anyone to take the family in which leads to homelessness.
2)I learned from this article that women who get abused usually don't have any place to go,which leads them to become homeless. They can not go to shelters because they are usually full and when try to get in they are turned away. The article stated, "1.3 million women are victims Of domestic violence each year." This is something new I learned as well as a very shocking fact. I knew women would get abused but I did not know that it was that many of them going through such a horrible situation.
3) This relates to what we learned in class about Hinduism because the untouchables in the Caste System were mistreated. Also the women in the untouchable families had been raped and beaten, which is also domestic violence.
4)After reading this article and being very disturbed at what I learned it made me want to make a change and help these women and children. If I had the money I would open a shelter just for domestic violence women and their family; however, since I don't it is up to me to see who I can reach so that they can make a difference.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.299s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb