RIHLA # 4


Advertisement
North America
September 30th 2011
Published: October 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

1. Why did you choose this particular issue to learn more about? (Remember, I am giving you the choice to CHOOSE the issue...what sparked your interest and why?)
I decided to pick HIV/AIDS in Homeless people. I decided to pick this topic because I though it was very interesting. I thoug so because I know when you have HIV/AIDS you have to get treatment that is very expensive. It made me wonder if the homeless are just diagnosed with it and just live until they die or do they get treatment to help it? I felt bad for them because if they cant do anything its probaly the most horrible feeling ever because they have no hope.

2. What did you learn about from this article? How is this particular issue effected by homelessness? I learned that the bills are very high to keep up with. This means that the homeless have trouble with paying the bills. Also the shelters where they stay can cause diseses. Heres a quote that explains, "Additionally, crowded shelters with poor ventilation can endanger people with HIV/AIDS by exposing them to infections such as hepatitis A, pneumonia, tuberculosis, and skin infections". I think that this is a horrible thing because the only place they have to stay is a place where they have to stay is where they get sick and can die.

3. In what ways do your findings relate to what we have discussed in class? I think I can relate this back to what we are learning in class because the homeless are like the untouchables. They are at the very bottom of the chain because they are so low. They are low because they have nothing. They can also relate to Confucianism because in order for them to move up in life they have to get an education and jobs. If they do this they can have a higher class than what they are now.

4. What actions if any, or futher investigating does this article make you want to pursue?
After reading this I feel really bad because I never knew how much Homeless poeple went through. Having HIV/AIDS and being homeless is horrible. I think its one of the worst positions to be in because you have no money or home to stay in or getting treatment for their diases. Also this makes me want to help donate money to something can help the Homeless People to pay for their bills for Medical Care. I think when im older if I am stable enough on my own, I hope to help donate money to the homeless.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.25s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb