Getting Ready for THE BIG TRIP !


Advertisement
North America
February 3rd 2010
Published: February 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I'm in the process of preparing for the BIG TRIP and as I'm going through my tasks, I'm feeling more and more excited ! I can hardly believe that I have 4 weeks in Mexico and it's getting hard to contain my excitement - yippeeeeeeee !!!

Haircut to 2" - check!
(no brush, comb, or hair products to worry about)

New 'colorful' clothes - check !
(blue, bright yellow, white - those that know me, know how unusual it will be for me to wear something other than black - totally out of my comfort zone)

Laptop bought - check !
(donating it to ACA)

Vaccinations started - check!

I still have a load to do like buy a few pails of kitty food and kitty litter for my furry friends.

Someone very responsible has agreed to stay in the house to ensure it's looked after and my furry pals have someone to feed them, cuddle them, talk to them, and scoop their poop ! Oh ya, and someone for Max to complain to (very LOUDLY)…that's his main occupation these days next to eating, pooping, and sleeping - after all the guy is going on 19 human years old and has earned the right to complain (so he thinks anyway)! I know that L. is looking forward to spending time with the critters, but she really has NO IDEA what she signed up for as I made sure she didn't get to meet Max the Constant Loudmouth Complainer prior to the agreement…heh heh. Good luck L. and thank you !!!!!!!!!!

So let me switch gears here and tell you a little about my travel companion. Jim is a friend of mine that has been looking forward to embarking on this adventure with me. I'm really glad I have someone to travel with as I have to admit, it was a little scary to think of wandering around Mexico by myself. He hails from the town I live in and we have enjoyed many grand debates over some very controversial topics…which makes for great entertainment. If Jim says 'white', I say 'black' Jim is also very fond of saying 'It's true - EVERYBODY KNOWS THAT!!!' It's then my turn to say 'Prove it !' … which usually prompts him to come up with some lengthy B.S. 'blah blah blah' which he will impart to whomever is listening with 'big eyes' looking right at me and daring me to challenge him. He delights in winding me up and watching me spin - he's very good at it! Well Jim, if you're reading this, let me tell you that I'm onto your B.S. and it's going to take a lot to wind me up from now on !!! P.S. Jim….thanks for teaching me how to say 'Hi my name is Jan - would you like to come home with me?' in Mexican and telling me that's how I order beer in Spanish! If I end up in a Mexican jail (God forbid), it'll definitely be Jim's fault !

Note to self: Get an English to Spanish dictionary …


Advertisement



4th February 2010

Where in Mexico?
HI Jan! I went to Mexico (Central) and was wondering where you were going. I went to this BEAUTIFUL city called Querétaro, which used to be the capital before one of the wars. It is a wonderful, clean city with lustrous gardens and beautiful old churches. We stayed at a place called Hotel La Casa de la Marquesa which was a GORGEOUS palace (and relatively cheap). We also did Leon and Teotihuacán‎ which has awesome ruins. So the trip was alot of driving down really nice main roads (no snow or ice to muck them up!).. I think all in all we drove about 5000 KM all around central Mexico. A trip we'll never forget.
4th February 2010

Where in Mexico?
Hi, we're flying to Peurto Vallarta - we'll be making our way to a village called Jocopetec which is right on Lake Chapala. I hope to have as good experience as you've had !
8th February 2010

Your Trip
Sounds like you have everything covered for your trip. Best wishes for your trip down. Have a great time !
16th February 2010

Sunshine
Hi Jan, hope you are enjoying the beautiful sunshine of Mexico in small doses , I spend my Valentine painting the shop and wrecking my clothes awesome... So whats the biggest surprise or misconception of Mexico?
7th March 2010

Biggest surprise
Hi Mureen, the biggest surprise of all is the absolute friendliness of the Mexicans...the other one is how many people can pile onto a scooter or quad! Also, I love the festivals and carnivals they have....and the family nights at the plaza...there is so much !

Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb