Silver and Salmonela


Advertisement
North America
July 1st 2008
Published: July 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I sincerely wish that I could sit here and write a glowing review of Taxco. The ancient silver mining city we visited this weekend is well known throughout the country for its bottom dollar price on high quality silver, glowing artisans markets, and beautiful mountain-city architecture. Unfortunatley I didn't really get much of an oppurtunity to enjoy this beautiful city, as I spent most of the day nursing a nasty stomach virus. It hit about 20 minutes before we were set to get off the bus, at that point I figured it was just motion sickness from spending too much time riding a bus on the bumpy cobblestone streets, but i was soon to be mistaken. I instead ended up spending most of the day in Taxco looking for public or semi public restrooms while every one else shopped around the silver markets.

Stomach viruses are something you just get used to living down here. Its one of the many less-glamourous side effects of spending a summer down here. Almost everyone I know has gotten sick at some point down here. Even my roommate had a bout with Salmonela last week. It just becomes part of the environment, nothing anyone gets too worked up about. With the amount of food we end up eating down here, no matter how much we try and avoid it, we're bound to eat something our sheltered American stomachs don't agree with. I wasn't too worried about my upset stomach and neither was anyone else. In fact about 30 minutes before we had to leave, I started feeling slightly better, good enough at least to buy myself the sparkliest, shiniest, pinkest ring I could find, which cheered me up significantly considering I hadn't been able to buy anything else for my family like I had planned.

A few popsicles and a bag of ritz crackers later I was feeling pretty content for the bus ride home. Although it was not fun having to sit and watch everyone else pass around all the pretty silver they'd bought for parents and girlfriends and such, I obliged, at least happy I wasn't spending my bus ride home on the floor of the nasty bus lavatory.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb