Te extrano mucho...


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Cuernavaca
July 8th 2008
Published: July 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So as my time in Mexico comes to a close, I realize how much of an adjustment going home is really going to be. I'm sure it'll be just as...if not more difficult than those I had to make when I first got down here. At some point, although its incredebly unclear exactly when, this city really did become like a second home to me. While the first few weeks were something of an adventure, exploring new streets, new foods, meeting new friends, I can honestly say (partly with pleasure and partly with sadness) that the everyday adventure of Cuernevaca has nearly dissapeared. I've mastered the public transportation, and the language struggles that once plagued me, now seem almost silly. These people who I barely knew as friends a month ago, have become nothing short of a psuedo-family to me down here. There's nothing left to explore, no sights left to dazzle (or bore) me. It's a feeling of comfort, and furthermore one of accomplishment, knowing that I turned this once, so foreign and so intimidating city, into one that I can confidentley call my own. At the same time, I feel somewhat disappointed as there really is nothing left for me to explore here. The craft markets and ancient castles have lost their wonderment, and at this point I find myself more longing for the comforts of home, than wishing to wander around this no longer quite-so-exciting city.
Don't get me wrong. I love Cuernevaca. I love the food, the culture, the architecture, the sheer beauty that encompasses this city. I would give anything to come back here and enjoy the simple pleasures of chatting about boys with my host sisters in broken spanish, or enjoying cold beers at a corner bar after a long day of classes. So at the moment, it's kind of a mixed barrell of emotions as I begin packing my belongings and preparing to leave for home. There's so many experiences, places, and people I'm going to miss, yet at the same time so much of the same I'm longing for so much at home. With so many pro's and con's about leaving, I thought I'd make a list to help clarify the insane multitude of conflicting emotions from which I suffer.

I'll miss...

-the exciting feeling I get, everytime a local understands my less-than-perfect spanish
-daily afternoon siestas
-half price sushi wednesdays....to compliment half price movie wednesdays
-sunsets over the mountains
-sunrises over the mountains
-sunbathing in between classes
-75 cent beer
-stocking up on granola bars and gatorade at the OXXO
-my hermanitas...and all their lessons in "true mexican spanish"
-getting free drinks just because I'm American
-$5 and under cab rides all over the city
-exploring ancient ruins and colonial cities every weekend
-salsa music
-the feeling that everyday is a new adventure
-people watching on lazy afternoons in the zocalo
-mango ice cream
-mango gatorade
-jalepeno grilled cheese
-debating politics with locals at the bar
-the enthusiasm of the boys in the bars watching soccer
-sleeping with the windows open during a thunderstorm
-the long nights here spent with friends...most of whom I will never see again
-mexican rap music
-pirated movies...that only cost $1
-kinder chocolate



I won't miss
-ham/cheese and mayonaise sandwiches
-unrefrigerated eggs and milk
-only having whole or powdered milk
-being overcharged for EVERYTHING just because I'm American
-having to listen so hard...only to understand about half of what was said to me
-atm machienes with no directions in English
-creepy cab drivers
-constant whistling and cat calls
-the dailly walk up the steep hill to my house
-eating dinner at 10pm
-waking up for class at 6:30
-the smell of Mexico...especially after it rains
-eating EVERYTHING with chile sauce...and I mean everything
-having to rely soley on public transportation
-the 50/50 chance of a cold shower every morning
-the 50/50 chance of catching a stomach virus after every meal
-having it cost so much just to call my family back home
-knowing that the majority of public bathrooms will have
a) toilet seats
b) toilet paper
c) running water
-And not having to pray for 2/3 of the above

-standing out everywhere!!

Advertisement



8th July 2008

coming home
Sure wish we could see you b/4 Thanksgiving. We have so enjoyed your adventures/FYI tried to call a # of times, but I guess I dialed wrong. Will talk to you when you get home. Love You Abuela & Abuelo (Hope this is correct)

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1020.3kb