Rihla #18


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
February 13th 2012
Published: February 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Part One (The Interview):

1. Name of Interviewee: Maricela Tinoco

2. Relationship to Interviewee: Mother

3. Decade of Choice: (The person should choose one decade from their life to refer to)1994

4.The neighborhood was not very safe. A lot of gang related activity took place right in front of my house. Children were not safe to play outside. The trees were beautiful they were very huge and took up a lot of space. People could not really live a regular life because they had to stay in side for safety issues.

5. She participated a lot in watching tv. There was not much to do bsck in the day because the neighborhood was not really safe. My mother did not have a car, so she has to stay in side the majority of her time.

6.The major social issue in that decade was violence within gang members. The violence was taking over the neighborhood. Families were not able to have a normal life and travel due to fear. The fear that they could lose their lives caused them to not want to travel as much.

7. The neighborhood began to change as gang members began to leave. Calm people began to come into the neighborhood. The lack of gang members allowed families to feel safer in their own neighborhoods and be able to be outside.

Part Two (Your Reflection):

1.I think that the location my mother lived in back then influenced her actions because she could not really do much. Her life style was limited because the violance did not allow her to be outside. My mother did not want to explore the surroundings because she did not want any harm for her children.

2. The location in which I live in now is the same location which my mother use to live in. However, the location has changed a lot. The violence in the area I live in is now less. I do not fear going outside as much as my mother use to live. I can easily go outside and go about my day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb