RIHLA #13


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
December 16th 2011
Published: January 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Reading through Diane Latiker's Story in the CNN Heroes of 2011, I felt myself becoming emotional because the issues her program addresses are issues that I see running rampant through my community. I consider Latiker a hero because she took the time to do what so many people wouldn't: she's reaching out to the youth instead of turning her back on them. I find it amazing that she has been able to create such a positive change in her community in less than 10 years. When I think of all the teens in Chicago that have died, I can't help but believe that had it not been for Diane Latiker's program, Kids Off the Block, there is a possibility that there could have been many more deaths and/or arrests of teens in Chicago.

If I had the opportunity to nominate someone as a hero of 2011, I wouldn't be able to nominate just one person. I feel that there are so many people who make a diffence in the quality of life that people are allowed to have. I feel that many of the historical figures that we have studied are heroes. I think that anyone who acts unselfishly to improve the quality of life of another individual is a hero. I think that it is decided that someone is a hero or acts heroic when that put their own wants or needs aside to give to less fortunate individuals.

Advertisement



Tot: 1.487s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb