Florida & New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
October 26th 2003
Published: January 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

BeachBeachBeach

My footprint in sand - cliched I know

Florida





I was very fortunate to go away with my FABS family for Fall Break and we took a trip down to Florida. I got to carve my first pumpkin for Halloween. I also made choc chip cookies from ready-made dough that you just break off into pieces and put in the oven - can you believe it? While most of the day consisted of lying on the beach, swimming or walking around town - we were a bit of a menace at night throwing water balloons at passing cars and then running away - ah to be young and immature - so much fun 😊



New York City



Right at the end of my stay in the States, I had a 12 hours layover in New York, so I put my luggage in storage and went exploring. Since I had sold my shoes to a friend of mine from school who wanted "South African Shoes" I was subjected to walking around New York in wait for it... socks & slops. I had an all day subway card and $2 left in my wallet. I saw all the most common tourist places,
FABS FamilyFABS FamilyFABS Family

Cat, her parents and myself
but my ultimate was climbing a small boulder in the middle of central park - I just watched people go by while listening to my music and just enjoying the relaxation and realisation that I was in New York. It was a good day.

However it did not end there - after that 12 hour layover, I had another 12 hour layover in London - I had all the intention of doing the same thing there - but by then my body was apparently craving some sleep and I ended up passing out on a chair in the middle of the airport. Unfortunately it was only for about an hour. And then it was on to the last 12 hour stretch headed home.



Summary



Total hours travelling including all layovers and flights: 57 hours
Total hours awake: 56 hours


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb