East Coast week


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
September 15th 2008
Published: November 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

DC
Flew out of Houston despite the potential threats of hurricane Goustof. Flew into Dullas and was picked up by Dad. Spent the evening and much of the next day at his and Jennifers house. Indulged the MI-5 addiction that Eli and I started the last night in Houston. Got a chance to visit with a bunch of friends from high school: Iz, Jon, Mary, Samantha, Clair, Jordy, and Will. Saw Annie and Jessie my godmother and her youngest son, who were also sweet enough to lend me their extra car so I had a way of getting around while I was in DC. Didn’t DO too much in DC, mostly just chatching up with people over meals or drinks. Lots of nostalgia and reminiscing. Even drove by the old Sudbury road house, which look completely different to the house I grew up in for sixteen years. They cut down most of the trees and painted it a earthy brown color. I couldn’t believe how different it looks. Made plans to potentially travel this summer with Jon in Asia. Went dancing with Samantha. Saw Dark Night with Clair. Visited Iz at work. Popped in on Mary the evening of her birthday after her weekend away with Jon. Its excited and strange to see and hear about how much everyones life has or hasn’t changed. I had a lot of ‘wow I feel old’ moments. Took the Bolt bus up to New York on Wednesday. Didn’t get a chance to see Paul and was sorry to have missed him. Also didn’t get a chance to really catch up with Dad but hoping he can make it up to Philly and we can spend Sunday together.

NY
Although the bus was running late, me and my big ass backpack finally made it to 33rd and 7th. With little difficulty I made it to Astoria and to Gabi and Tara’s apartment. It was SO lovely to see them! Tara works nights and Gabi has a 9-5/7 so I was sad to hear they barely see one another. The night I arrived Gabi and I went out for dinner and spent the evening talking and catching up. She told me all about the new job, living in New York…we talked about how it was being finished with college and I went on and on about my travels, told her what our mutual friends from birthright are upto and so on. After Gabi went to be about an hour or two later Tara got back from work. Then she and I spent the evening and much of the next morning sitting around and catching up as well. Tried to work out a meeting with an actor friend but I wasn’t able to make it into the city in time to see her, sorry I miss you Evie! Next time, I promise. Then Tara went out on a date and I met Gabi for sushi. We went out and got drinks in Soho. The next morning I said good bye to Gabi and then went out for an authentic American diner breakfast with Tara and a friend before I got back on the Bolt and headed to Philly.

Philly
Had a whirlwind visit in Philly. Finished listening to ‘Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas’ on the bus ride down. I, unknowingly, but brilliantly managed to plan my visit for Fringe Festival week. So along with seeing: Elisa, Michelle, Alyson, Erin, Brett, Chris, Kevin, Katelin and a whole other host of familiar faces I also got to see a few shows. “Ballad Boys” written, directed, performed, designed by UArts friends and alums. Also saw a VERY silly piece called “Harold the Handless” and a beautiful one man show produced by PigIron. I stayed at the lovely and homey 1029 Waverly street house. It was fun to come back to a city I was so familiar with, where I recognized people on the sidewalk and could give directions with confidence after spending the entire summer as a traveler. It was wonderful to see my friends, but slightly bitter sweet as I spent so much of my time hearing about all the events are parts of their lives that I was absent for. Like in DC did a lot of eating out. Went drinking, dancing. It felt good to feel like I had touched base with so many of the people who have, and I hope will continue to be, my companions and confidants in the past half a decade. I hope I will be able to make it back to see some people I wasn’t able to see this time out, but I am too looking forward to a long, incense, period of doing nothing and not moving anywhere……we’ll see how long that lasts.


Advertisement



Tot: 1.358s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb