4 gray whales


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
November 9th 2005
Published: November 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hi All!

Yesterday was a beautiful, sunny day and so I spent the vast majority of my morning out side on the front deck with a lap-top writing a lesson plan. The best part of being outside is that I was able to see 4 beautiful gray whales! I didn't spot them - the captain came out to tell me he saw some of the water from their blow holes. We got pretty close to them on our travel path. They are such beautiful creatures!

Yesterday, we also had a tour of the captain's deck. It is amazing the combination of old school vs. new school technology! They still plot their courses by hand, but also have a computer program that if they type in their departure city and arrival city, the computer plots the course for them...

Other than that, we spent most of the day working on lesson plans. Today we have half a day of class and the rest of the afternoon to work on lesson plans. All day Saturday and Sunday will also be devoted to that, and possiblty part of MOnday. It is really great to be working with such an intersting group of people.

I am off to enjoy the outdoors. I will write more later.

Advertisement



10th November 2005

Howdy!
Hi Ramona! It is so exciting that you have seen whales, and I'm glad you are enjoying the outdoors too. I'm sure it will seem weird to see land again. Have an excellent day!

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb