Happy Presidents Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
February 18th 2008
Published: February 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

No one has school, so I went and visited my other cousins home for dinner. They live in a town called Edison. If you ask an Indian person whether they know of this town, they will say yes. Edison, NJ is the Indian capital of the United States. SOOOO many Indian people call Edison their home or place of business. It is pretty much little India. I walked the streets of it, and all I saw was Indian shops (and a random bowling lane). The whole entire apartment complex in which my aunt and uncle lived was filled with nothing but Indians; you knew this because of all the swastikas written on every door (look up swastika in wikipedia if you are confused). I ate authentic paan (it is pronounced so it rhymes with the "ton" in "won ton soup"). Paan is a mixture of many different items in a leaf which you usually suck on and chew for its flavor. Usually, paan contains a mixture of tobacco flakes, nuts, seeds, and spices which chewed after dinner as a mouth freshener and digestive (this is what my father had). I had the "meetha" pan, which means sweet pan; it is filled with spices, fruits, and sugar to give a unique sweet flavor (don't worry, no tobacco).

Advertisement



21st February 2008

Disgusting!
Hi Munir, Sorry for not replying sooner. Although I have been showing jup at school, I am very ill with that flu thing or whatever is going around. Like you, it was nice to celebrate Washington's b-day so that I could have time to get better. Actually, I ended up getting worse. Being that I was already ill, your description of paan just about made me lose my stomach contents. You need to avoid that stuff because the young ladies not enjoy your breath and I'm sure it looks unappealing!

Tot: 0.247s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1125s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb