Visiting


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » New Jersey
February 17th 2008
Published: February 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was a blur. I stayed up with my cousin until 5 in the morning, and then slept at his place. When I woke up at noon, I was quickly dragged off to the first destination of the day, where I had a nice lunch with people I hadn't seen in years or had never met in my life. I then started touring the state - visiting house after house after house of people who somehow knew me, but I didn't know them. They kept commenting on "how much I've grown." I felt like Harry Potter. I finally came home at 10pm, completely exhausted - again. But I did receive some good of the visits; you see, it is Indian tradition to give money to children who come over or whose dwelling you visit, so almost every house I went to I received a nice cash reward. By the end of the day I had about $80 in my wallet.... Lucky me 😊

Advertisement



21st February 2008

You're a rich man!
Well Munir, the next pot luck is going to be on you. That is a very nice Indian tradition. I'm sorry that everyone wants to see you and tell you how much you have grown....poor Munir! As to your first blog, I didn't know that Edison NJ was the U.S. Indian capital. It must have made you feel somewhat like being in Punjabi. Whatever you do, don't come back telling me you met the girl of your dreams and are getting married!!

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb