Hiking the Canyon


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
July 29th 2007
Published: September 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Desert View CampgroundDesert View CampgroundDesert View Campground

This was one of my favorites!
We got a fairly early start (at least for us) for our hike on the Bright Angel Trail. Our goal was the first rest stop a mile and a half down. Everyone seemed to do okay. It was one of my favorite things so far. I guess my exercises have paid off. I was able to climb in and out. I didn’t quite make it to the 1st rest stop but I could have. I had Silas with me and he was getting really weary. We still had to climb out. With frequent stops to rest he made it (Dad helped, too).

I meet several interesting people but the most interesting for me was Petra. Petra was a really a trooper and I would nominate her for some award-an academy award in mountain climbing, or something. She pulled a muscle in her thigh and had to limp out. Her very patient husband carried her backpack, offered encouragement and never seemed to be the least put out. Since I was having to stop and catch my wind it took me quite a bit of time to walk out also. Mom, Dad and Wade were resting often also. Petra's husband offered to
Elk BabyElk BabyElk Baby

This baby was was jumping and splashing in the mud hole! Way to much fun!!
take our picture. As we posed he told us to say something like ‘spaghetti von schnitzel.’ I think Petra spoke only German. As we neared the top my sweet Nathan son carried some water back down to me. I sent him back to the top and had my kids all clap when Petra walked out. She was pleased but still in terrible pain! They were headed for some ice for that leg!!

Michael at some point caught up with me. He took Silas on out carrying him part way. He also meet a interesting man from Munich, Germany. As they exchanged stories it seemed ironic that this was Michael’s first visit to the Grand Canyon but he had seen the Berlin Wall when it was still standing. The younger German man had only seen the Berlin Wall after it came down and was also seeing the Grand Canyon for the first time.

Late that afternoon we went over to the Watchtower and bought souvenirs. Thank you, Granny and Grandpa!!!! Standing 4 stories above the Canyon was quite a view!

We heard a presentation from a ranger of tribal legends of how the moon and stars came to
Bright Angel TrailBright Angel TrailBright Angel Trail

We walked on the part of the trail to the right.
be. It is interesting to compare them to the Greek and Norse myths we have studied this year and of course to Genesis.

One last sunset over the Grand Canyon-the pictures still don’t do it justice.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

The Slow PokesThe Slow Pokes
The Slow Pokes

Smile, Silas we are ahead of you-- clear down here!
Group PictureGroup Picture
Group Picture

Taken by Petra's husband.
Sunset over the CanyonSunset over the Canyon
Sunset over the Canyon

It takes about 12 minutes for the sun to slip below the clouds and then below the rim. You could almost see it moving!!


Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb