Grand Canyon


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
July 28th 2007
Published: September 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

SunriseSunriseSunrise

One of the benefits of camping!
Homolovi Ruins State Park/Little Colorado Scenic Overlook

This morning we saw several jackrabbits, lizards and a roadrunner. We went to the Ruins where a mile walk took us to Homolovi I. These native inhabitants lived here about 1200. We saw lots of pottery pieces, some with beautiful designs and colors.

If this is the Little Colorado…what will the Colorado be?! Looking down on these ‘big rocks’ kind of messes with my equilibrium. It sure was interesting but not really colorful. (Obviously written after I saw the Grand Canyon). It was a nice break.

Grand Canyon



We arrived at Desert View on the east side of the Canyon. This is a most interesting campground. There are lots of trees--only thing they are all short and squatty. Pinion pine and juniper, rocks and weeds. Got the dining fly up in good time. I don’t think anyone timed it. After lunch and a short nap we head out to actually see the Grand Canyon.

If I thought words failed me before… This is so magnificent so… so… so …GRAND!! Silas was completely wowed!! That is saying something as he has been just ‘oh cool’ about the places so far.
Road RunnerRoad RunnerRoad Runner

Beep! Beep!
Summits: check paper

Hiking the Canyon
We got a fairly early start (at least for us) for our hike on the Bright Angel Trail. Our goal was the first rest stop a mile and a half down. Everyone seemed to do okay. It was one of my favorite things so far. I guess my exercises have paid off. I was able to climb in and out. I didn’t
quite make it to the 1st rest stop but I had Silas with me and he was getting really weary. We still had to climb out. I think I could have gone the whole way but I wanted to make sure I could get Silas out. We had frequent stops to rest. I meet several interesting people but the most interesting was Petra. Petra was a really a trooper and I would nominate her for some award-an academy award in mountain climbing, or something. She pulled a muscle in her thigh and she limped out. Her very patient husband carried her backpack, offered encouragement and never seemed to be the least put out. Since I was having to stop and catch my wind it took me quite a bit of time
Quick SandQuick SandQuick Sand

Watch out!
to walk out also. Mom, Dad and Wade were resting also. They offered to take our picture so we posed and he told us to say something like ‘spaghetti von schnitzel’ (something like that) as they were from Germany. My sweet Nathan son carried some water back down to me. I sent him back to the top and had my kids all clap when Petra walked out. She was pleased but still in terrible pain! They were headed for some ice for that leg!!

Michael meet a man from Munich, Germany. As they exchanged stories it was ironic that this was Michael’s first visit to the Grand Canyon but he had seen the Berlin Wall when it was still standing. The younger German man had only seen the Berlin Wall after it came down and was also seeing the Grand Canyon for the first time.

Late that afternoon we went over to the Watchtower and bought souvenirs. Thank you, Granny and Grandpa!!!! Standing 4 stories above the Canyon was quite a view!

We heard a presentation from a ranger of tribal legends of how the moon and stars came to be. It is interesting to compare them
Pottery PiecesPottery PiecesPottery Pieces

Such brilliant colors!
to the Greek and Norse myths we have studied this year.

One last sunset over the Grand Canyon-the pictures still don’t do it justice.



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Homolovi Ruins State ParkHomolovi Ruins State Park
Homolovi Ruins State Park

In a little dwelling
Little ColoradoLittle Colorado
Little Colorado

These kind of mess with my equilibrium!
Little ColoradoLittle Colorado
Little Colorado

That's a long way down!
Grand CanyonGrand Canyon
Grand Canyon

Our first view!
The Purdom Tour GroupThe Purdom Tour Group
The Purdom Tour Group

Eventually Dad got closer to the edge!!


14th September 2007

We've Been There
Regarding the picture you have of the family standing near the railing (except for Michael), I think our family took some pictures at that same overlook, in 1996, on our way to RH for the first time. :) Enjoyed the pictures.

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb