Devil's Tower, WY & Badlands National Park, SD


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
August 16th 2022
Published: August 16th 2022
Edit Blog Post

This past few days I visited Devil's Tower in Wyoming. The tower of vertical cracked rock is over 1200 feet, has almost 2 miles of paved walking paths surrounding the base, and you can even climb it! I choose not to, but it is an available option. The tower can be seen for free from a distance on the roadside. After driving that far, I'll be damned if I'm not taking a closer look at this rock. I was actually very surprised at how interesting and beautiful it was. Many people tie ribbons and pouches on nearby trees for prayer. I don't understand that, but it sure looked neat. The temperature was nearly 100 degrees that day in the late afternoon. I completed the hike, missed my turn to go back to my car and almost hiked the whole thing again. Thankfully, I soon realized what I had done and turned around.

Ellsworth Air Force Base has been my camp since then. They have a gym, yoga studio, library, commissary, exchange (I thought was a bank, but it's like a mall with a food court and everything), free laundry, cheap gas, free wifi all over the base. The best part? It cost $5 per night. Just TRY and make me leave! While I am planted in my campsite here I will be branching off and doing some of the many activities the area has to offer. This morning I was up at 3:30, off base by 4:00 and at Badlands NP by 5:00...this is all a.m. by the way. I wanted to see the sunrise over the "Big Badlands Overlook". It was pitch black when I arrived, the stars were so clear. I opened my hatchback, pulled out my pop up table and fired up the stove. I need my coffee for this adventure. There were many people in the parking lot with the same morning salutation I wanted. They were jealous of my coffee making on the go skills. :-)

When the sun rose over The Wall a beautiful gift became apparent. I had no idea I was completely surrounded by the most amazing sculpted rocks. Jagged peaks, stripped in grey, red and white. As the sun rose higher and higher the colors became more brilliant. Something I will surely never forget. This overlook is right at the east entrance to the park, so my journey is just
Chill'n and having funChill'n and having funChill'n and having fun

Pulled over and stopped for a selfie...cause I can.
beginning. I could not leave the parking area before 4-5 big horn sheep came out to say good morning. It is heavily advised to not leave your vehicle so I never did but saw many people who did. What the point? Just to get 2 feet closer? Not worth it! My next stop on the loop is the Notch and Window trails. Window trail is .25 miles, flat and easy and well known for the window shape cut out of rock to overlook more mounds. The trails allow a person to walk on the stones, snake around large pillars, and get a real feel for the area. Notch trail is known for it's wooden ladder. It looks scarier than it really is. This trail is just under 2 miles, slightly strenuous primarily due to some climbing.

There are many pull outs to rest, take pictures, picnic, hike, etc. Each one is named, here are my favorites;

Fossil Exhibit - showcases fossils found in the area, there was a big horn sheep there while I visited AND the covered area was full of swallow nests and little baby birds sticking their heads out.

White River Valley, Panoramic Point,
SwallowsSwallowsSwallows

Little baby swallows in their nest waiting for their next meal to be served. Not from me little guys, but thanks for the photo.
Conata Basin, and Yellow Mounds.

Pinnacles Overlook - most popular overlook, unfortunately was under construction when I visited, but it is still recommended.

Robert's Prairie Dog Town; these little guys put on a real show! I got so close to them, it was incredible. They are playful, running and rolling around in the dust, making the cutest chirping sounds. I have been told it is okay to bring healthy snack to feed them, but it's not something I believe in doing so I chose not to participate in that either. Feeding wild animals and rock climbing...no thank you.

Best tip to anyone ever going to this park. Get your pen and paper ready....Sage Creek Rim Road. Yes, yes, yes! I saw hundreds of bison, sheep, prong horns (antelope as we know them), it is the epic wildlife viewing area. There are speed limit signs on the roads, but that isn't necessary because everyone is stopping to take photos. Unlike YNP and GNP, here you can stop in the road or pull over anywhere to take pictures. It was so much fun.
Not all those who wander are lost.
Michelle


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

SunriseSunrise
Sunrise

Watching the hills appear down in the valley was like opening a gift this morning.
Prairie DogsPrairie Dogs
Prairie Dogs

They have large mounds that they burrow down in. They poke their heads up to see if the coast is clear. Once they are sure, they run about, rolling in the dust with each other or by themselves. It was so much fun to watch.
Full imageFull image
Full image

A nice lady offered to take my picture for me. This is my first full body picture. Since Covid, nobody really offers to do that any more. I feel bad asking too, so I've just gone without. I profusely thank her! Finally a picture of me without my big head in the corner. The woes of traveling alone.
Notch TrailNotch Trail
Notch Trail

The popular wooden stairs on Notch Trail. They look more intimidating than they really are. Oh wait.... it was tough, grueling, I am a beast to have accomplished this set of stairs!!!!
Prairie dogPrairie dog
Prairie dog

I think because people feed them, they are willing to let me get this close for a picture. All I kept thinking is that if I don't hand over a cracker he's going to pounce on my face. Doesn't that look like an attack position?


17th August 2022

thanks
i feel like im on the trip with you with all your explanations!!!
18th August 2022

love the Devil's Tower selfie! You rock, Michelle!
24th August 2022

Awesome as always..
I am behind in 3 blogs. Today I am catching up on you gf. Love you

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb