Rapid City, SD


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » South Dakota » Rapid City
August 16th 2022
Published: August 16th 2022
Edit Blog Post

After all that hiking at Badlands National Park, I drove into Rapid City for lunch and a walk. I chose The Firehouse Brewery because I love fire stations (and I had a 1/2 off coupon from the visitors centers). A 12z stout and loaded nachos just about put me to sleep right at the table. I was up at 3:30 a.m. to catch the sunrise and did many hikes in the sun today. The décor is top notch, the beer is great but a small selection and the food is HUGE. Before I actually do sleep on the table, I took off for a hike to see the presidential bronze statues in the downtown area and art valley where graffiti is a form of art and encouraged. Rapid City was kinda bigger than I thought, it was intimidating and I wanted to get back in the country where I am comfortable. The city has lots of parks (skating, green and splash pads), great little shops, many food options too. I wish I would have gotten a bagel from Black Hills Bagel, but I was so stuffed I couldn't imagine walking into a bagel shop at that moment.

Tomorrow the 17th I am planning a rest day. There is lots to do right here on base. I have been using the gym and yoga studio every day, checked out a great book from the library, and have found shaded little nooks where I can lay back and relax and read.

The goal is to die with memories not dreams

Michelle


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Firehouse Brewing Co.Firehouse Brewing Co.
Firehouse Brewing Co.

I had a stout beer and loaded nachos. Highly recommend this stop if you are here.


17th August 2022

rapid city
they have a cool park there down by the river and also several caves to explore in that area

Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb