National Parks in Montana & Wyoming


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming
August 13th 2022
Published: August 13th 2022
Edit Blog Post

WOW what an incredible week! I was camped out for 3 days and 2 nights trying to get Road to the Sun tickets and finally got them. I arrived at Glacier National Park at 5:40 a.m. to beat the traffic of RV'ers. GNP did not let my hard work and efforts down. Large mountains, clear lakes, abundant wildlife and spectacular views in every directions. I pulled over countless times to enjoy the views, breath the fresh air and take lots of pictures. The colorful rocks of Lake McDonald are about equal if not a bit less brilliant than those found at Flathead Lake. Still amazing though. I was sure to stop off and enjoy some of the hiking trails that were between 1-3 miles each. On one of them I heard some rustling in the bushes. I noticed not one, but two little black cubs rolling around and playing in the brush. Where's momma? Oh, there she is roaming for food right in front of me! I was ablet to get some pictures, but I quickly got out of the area and locked up safe and sound in my car. I had goosebumps for half an hour after that encounter. I read up on what to do, did all my homework, and bought the bear safe gear. Once I stood so close to one in the woods all alone, I freaked! It's time to go. The drive was slow, winding and steep but there are many turnouts so I could take my time to enjoy. I spent a few hours driving through, my early starting hour paid off.

Next I visited the Lewis and Clark Caverns in Montana. Up a steep narrow mountain drive I found a cluster of people wanting to see the same thing! Luckily I slid right into a tour that started in just 5 minutes. A one mile hike up hill in the sun took us to the 180 pound wooden door securing the cave. The temperature is a steady 48 degrees year round. A this time, it was a real treat! Any other time a person may want to bring something warm to wear. I did the "Paradise" tour which was lest steps and only one hour long. I didn't see as much but I got the point of what it had to offer. Lewis and Clark had nothing to do with this cave, the
Bear encounter Bear encounter Bear encounter

This is a picture of a picture since it was originally on my camera.
parks and rec department only named it after them as a respect thing. Probably revolved around financial too? Like so much of nature, pictures do not bring the awe and beauty justice.

The night of August 10th I did my first dispersed camping experience (after a pep talk from Uncle Andy and Aunt Cindy). There are many resources for free camping but I somehow keep finding the "scary" ones. Finally I found Meadow Lake, MT, but all the spaces were full. UGH! I approached a random van camper that was not using all of his parking space and asked if I could join them for one night? Jim and Sandy were their names and they were kind enough to let me squeeze in. The lake was bubbling with fish, infested with every kind of local bird, and as a night time treat, I saw deer walk out into the lake to splash around. Fantastic night.

Onward to Yellowstone NP. I have been there many times and only planned on driving through quickly as a reminder that land can smell like rotten eggs. Yep, just as I remembered. I did visit Mammoth Hot Springs, Norris Geyser, and other little stops along the way. I saw two bison really up close, but it is while I was driving so no pictures. I have the picture in my mind and it is exhilarating. While waiting to see Old Faithful erupt I looked up my next campsite. How did I make this mistake? It is almost 5 hours away! I had to miss the geyser which was expected to blow for another 45-60 minutes. Setting up camp in the dark is not fun. There is still much construction happening at Yellowstone so travel is very slow. The floods yearly in the season really beat the roads up.

I found my next campsite at North Tongue in Wyoming. I got the last space in the back of the park. First thing on the list is a shower. The campsite only offers vault toilets and fresh water that I had to pump myself to fill a bucket, then fill my containers. I wrapped a tarp around the front and back doors of my car and set up my shower necessities. Since I am the back space, there wasn't many campers around. I scanned the area closely, then got naked in my country homemade shower. As soon as I was stripped, I saw a doe with her little polka dotted fawn...where's my camera? I reached in, grabbed the camera and shot off a few pictures. How lucky am I to shower in an environment like this? Next, I rinsed off and soaped up my hands to wash and I noticed something in front of me. TWO MOOSE! A boy and a girl (sorry I don't know the correct terms....a cow and bull?). I wiped my hands off quickly, grabbed my camera and again and snapped off more pictures. What a lovely natural treat. Finally was able to complete my task at hand, dress in some cozy pj's cause it's going to be a cold night. To celebrate, I made roast beef slices, instant mashed potatoes, whole wheat bread slice and some red wine.

Today I am visiting Big Horn and Devil's Tower in Wyoming. Not sure where I will be camping. Since I am loaded up on gas, ice and water, I hope to find another dispersed camping site. I am happy, well and having the time of my life! Please "bear" with me and my sporadic postings. I do not have internet, am camping far off the beaten path and have limited opportunities to charge my equipment. Right now I am sponging two bars of internet from a packed Starbucks as I watch the battery on my lap top deplete quickly.

In the end, we only regret the chances we didn't take.

Michelle


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Meadow lakeMeadow lake
Meadow lake

My dispersed camping area.
MooseMoose
Moose

North Tongue campground.
Camp showerCamp shower
Camp shower

The blue bag is my toiletry bag, the grey bag on the left is my solar shower. I add water thats been stored in the car so the temperature is "OK". I wear flip flop shoes, close all the car doors and cover the windows. Viola!


14th August 2022

How exciting!
The wildlife photos are amazing

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.1018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb