Baton Rouge, Natches, Vicksburg


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
April 23rd 2018
Published: April 25th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I had another great day today exploring the south. As I was leaving Baton Rouge, I drove through Louisiana State University (LSU). Beautiful campus. Stopped in downtown Baton Rouge before I headed up towards Vicksburg through Natches. Wanted to go through Natches because I read a series of three books by Greg Iles centered in Natches. Beautiful drive with lots of green. Huge southern mansions as well as shacks along the way.

A few things that I tried to do today I couldn’t. I was going on the USS Kidd, a WWII Destroyer but it was closed because they were filming a movie. The old state capital was closed for a private party. I tried to go to a Civil War batterfiled and it was closed. I wanted to stop for lunch at a drive-in dive that I saw on TV and it was closed. I then drove 7 miles off the main highway to see another battlefield and the park was closing in 5 minuets. Bad luck day.

Loved going through a plantation and Natches. Put my foot in the Mississippi in Baton Roug. Got a few good pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 4; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb