Day 5--Back in the Saddle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wyoming
May 16th 2017
Published: May 19th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Oh, do I love Cody. It is the neatest little western town, complete with old Trail town, which I just had to see. Quentin, Tom, Al and I walked up and down the old town and stepped into original 19th century cabins and shops and a saloon, too! just being there in those wooden buildings conjured up what life must've been like back then. Butch Cassidy, the Sundance kid, Billy the kid and others actually hung out there and planned their bank robberies. I loved the saloon, complete with a semi naked picture, a player piano and of coarse, a huge bar. The museum was really cool: of course it had the obligatory glass cases of bows and arrows, rifles, but best of all Something for us fashionistas! There was a beautiful Indian dress, a War Coat ( The bead work those poor women did is amazing). I loved the buckskin coat made in the early 1800s ( wish I could borrow it for Yellowstone since snow and 20° weather is forecast ). And, I gown laid in 1886 by Worth of Paris! I guess you could tell that I didn't want to leave Cody but, Yellowstone called and we saddled up to go on a bear hunt. Yellowstone is massive, 2.2 million square miles and tomorrow we will be on an all day tour so I won't go into detail now . Just some highlights: we stopped for lunch at a big hotel, part of which was built in 1891. ( I had bison chili, really good ), then we went to the rustically, (is that a word?, )but interestingly beautiful lodge by Yellowstone Lake and we did see Old Faithful do his job! l got a great picture of a buffalo, have got to learn the difference between buffalo and bison and annoyingly enough, , I was too late getting a picture of a magnificent bighorn sheep. Oh well, "tomorrow is another day." Don't forget to check out my pictures…


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb