CNN Hero


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin
January 10th 2012
Published: January 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Sal Dimiceli - CNN Heroes 2011

I believe Sal is the most heroic because he has helped different Americans that are struggling to get by just to survive daily. He lived through poverty when he was a child, so he experienced and understood about their struggles. On average per week, he receives 20-30 letters from families and visit them to see what they need. To vertify their needs, he would personally check through the cabinets to make sure they are being trueful about their situation.

--"I was shocked," Cervantes said. "I feel relieved. The kids are getting tired of macaroni cheese and Ramen soup every night."

Sal's help does not end there. He wants to improve these people's lives to get them out hole. He does not just want to supply the people with what they need, but he helps them get back on their feet. For example, he "negotiating lower rent with their landlords, repairing their car or tapping his network of supporters to help find them a job." Sal's impact has helped struggling individuals and families become financially stable to support their livings in the long-term.

Besides from the newspaper column, he has a website called Time is Now to Help to advocate needs of children, elderly, handicapped, and for others who need help. Sal has devoted his time to assist the people who need a helping hand and give them hope to continue to live on. Works of Sal Dimiceli show how anyone can make a change in this society if s/he tries. A little help can make a great impact.



My college mentor is the hero in my life at this moment because she has helped a lot through the college process from applications to essays. It is a job without paid, and she is kind enough to offer her free time to help me get into college and get scholarships. I remember the time when I needed some urgent help with essays that no teachers are willing to come to my rescue. I acknowledge the fact that I was being very last minute about it, but she understood my situation. She has been committed to support me in all ways. I am glad to have her by my side during this process of applying for college. 😊

Yes! We do study heroes in history through their struggles and accomplishments along with the changes they contributed to. In order to classify a hero, we need to decide what they went through and achieved in life. Their works and accoomplishments have been what's left footprints in our history books.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb