Greetings from Badger Land


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Madison
August 17th 2011
Published: August 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hillside StudioHillside StudioHillside Studio

This was built in 1902 as a boarding school for his two aunts. It was converted into the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture in the 1930s and is still in operation today.
Hello from Madison. Yesterday was smooth sailing so I drove further than planned. In the summer I have a hard time stopping in the middle of the afternoon when I feel like diving further. I drove an extra 100 miles and was still settled in well before dark. That made for a short drive today which led to my 2nd bonus attraction of the trip. When I stopped at the WI welcome center, I learned Frank Lloyd Wright's home - Taliesin - is located just west of Madison. To top it off, they are celebrating Taliesin's centennial this year.

So... I got set up at the campground and headed out for a tour. I was able to take in the Highlights Tour and got to see both the house and his Hillside Studio. It was nice surprise, especially since I got to see one of the homes he designed and built in PA last year - Falling Waters.

Here are a couple of photos from the day. Thursday I'm going to explore Madison and see if I can find any more pleasant surprises!

Bruce


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

estate viewestate view
estate view

View of the 600 acre estate from Taliesin.
TaliesinTaliesin
Taliesin

View of Taliesin - Frank Lloyd Wright's home.
antique thresherantique thresher
antique thresher

Saw this on the way to Taliesin but didn't have time to photograph it then. I stopped on the way back. While I was photographing it, the owner stopped by and told me the history behind it. It had been his Father's.
WI BarnWI Barn
WI Barn

Saw the reflection and took this just before dark. While I was beside the road, a local stopped by and told me there was an Eagle in a tree back up the road. I took a couple of photos with my regular camera, but wish I had a longer lens with me. It's only a couple of miles from the campground so I may go back and see if I can see it again.


Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb