Oshkosh by Gosh


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Madison
August 19th 2011
Published: August 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Unitarian ChurchUnitarian ChurchUnitarian Church

designed and built by Frank Lloyd Wright.
What a fun two days I've had exploring Madison and Oshkosh, WI. The weather has been absolutely perfect.

Thursday I started out at the Unitarian Church Frank Lloyd Wright designed and built in Madison. Then I drove around the University of Wisconsin campus and worked my way downtown to the Capital. Along the shore of Lake Monona is the Convention Center - Monona Terrace. Wright designed the building over several decades. His final design was in 1959. Fifty-six years later the City of Madison built the convention center based on his design. Changes had to be made, but were accomplished by Taliesin Architects.

Friday I headed over to Oshkosh, WI. Driving along country roads I drove by a barn with a smiley face painted on a door. It called out my name and I turned around to snap a few photographs. Nearly an hour later, I departed for Oshkosh!!! During that time, I met the 6th generation farmer of the land and received permission to 'take all the photos' I want. So I walked around the barns for a while. Along the way I met his son, 7th generation farmer. As I was winding down, the mother/grandmother (5th generation)
Fountain and CapitalFountain and CapitalFountain and Capital

Fountain on top of Monona Terrace with Capital in background.
talked with me and gave me a little history. The family first established the homestead in 1853! Needless to say, I was in photo heaven with old barns.

I could spend DAYS at the EAA (Experimental Aircraft Association) Museum, but I settled for most of the day. The museum is photographer friendly - they let me bring my tripod in.

Here are some photos from the past two days. Time to wind down. Saturday I'm off to Superior, WI / Duluth, MN area. I'll hang out there for 2 days before heading north to Orr, MN.

As always, thanks for checking in with me. Bruce


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Old TheaterOld Theater
Old Theater

I enjoy finding old theaters in towns. This one is a few blocks south of the Capital.
ChurchChurch
Church

in downtown Madison, just south of the Capital.
Smiley Face BarnSmiley Face Barn
Smiley Face Barn

This is what caught my eye and made me turn around and grab the cameras.
more barnsmore barns
more barns

These were behind the smiley face barn.
EAA hangarEAA hangar
EAA hangar

One of the hangars by the grass airstrip at EAA.
car planecar plane
car plane

This was what some folks thought we would all have by now. I believe this experimental car plane was built and flown in the 50s.


Tot: 0.281s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 13; qc: 73; dbt: 0.1813s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb