Minnesota bound


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Bowling Green
August 16th 2011
Published: August 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Before the stormBefore the stormBefore the storm

Friday evening at Lake Keowee.
Hello from Bowling Green, KY. Started off the trip with a short drive on Friday to Lake Keowee near Seneca and Clemson, SC. Kicked back with two cousins relaxing by the lake in our RVs. Sunday I departed for TN. Had a nice drive in the mountians of North Georgia. Realized Saturday night that my scheduled stop for Sunday evening was about 30 minutes from Lynchburg, TN, home of the first distillery in the US - Jack Daniels.

Going to central time I was there in time to set up the RV, unhook the Jeep, drive over and catch the last tour of the day. I have several fun stops planned along the way, but this was one of those bonus stops where I discovered I was passing close by an attraction and had time to take it in.

I was unable to upload images from the iPad last night so I ended up not posting an entry. Looks like I can't do it from my laptop either. This is the first time I've used travelblog in over a year and they've made some major changes.

So I'll give you a few words about Monday and hopefully figure out how to upload images soon.

Monday was a VERY short drive to Bowling Green. Pulled into the campground, set up, and headed to the Corvette plant. Made the 11:30 tour. After the tour I went to the National Corvette Museum across the street. Then I explored downtown Bowling Green where they have a neat town square.

Tomorrow and Wednesday are driving days. I'll be in Madison, WI Wednesday when I drop anchor. Plan on being there for a few days. I was talking to my neighbors in the campground this evening and I may modify my itinerary slightly when I leave Madison. Stay tuned for that possible fun change of plans.

Well I managed to get some photos uploaded. Yippee! Hopefully I can also upload from my iPad, but if not I can always transfer to laptop and post.

Hope you enjoy this short update. That's all for tonight.

Thanks for checking in with me. Bruce and Chessy



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Jack Daniels headquartersJack Daniels headquarters
Jack Daniels headquarters

This was the headquarters for Jack Daniels from 1866 to 1952!
Cave SpringCave Spring
Cave Spring

The water used at Jack Daniels comes from and underground aquifer and filters through limestone. This is the cave where it comes out.
Caddy SUVCaddy SUV
Caddy SUV

This has to be the most unusual jacked up SUV I've ever seen - a Cadillac hearse made into...
Corvette PlantCorvette Plant
Corvette Plant

They always have a couple of Corvettes on display in front of the plant.
Corvette MuseumCorvette Museum
Corvette Museum

Special effect iPhone app to get this strange image of part of the Corvette Museum. Hope to edit some other photos later and upload.
Movie TheaterMovie Theater
Movie Theater

in downtown Bowling Green
Vintage Gas StationVintage Gas Station
Vintage Gas Station

Standard Oil Station #1 circa 1921; downtown Bowling Green


Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 13; qc: 80; dbt: 0.2288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb