Semi Charmed Kind of Life


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Wisconsin » Madison
April 17th 2007
Published: April 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Happy Birthday Suset!Happy Birthday Suset!Happy Birthday Suset!

My roomie's bday party. Tons of fun! Lots of dancing and wine drinking.
I wore flip flops outside today for the first time since I have been back in the states. My mood has mimicked Wisconsin springtime weather for the past few months, sunny and warm and then suddenly stormy and frigid. Getting readjusted to the weather and pace of life back home has been some what of a rollercoaster ride. But being as it is sunny and warm outside and I feel much the same way, I figured it would be a good time to update my blog.

Stories from School

(I wish more than anything I could share the precious pictures of the children and families I work with. However, for the sake of their privacy and my job, I will try to describe their shining smiles and entertaining personalities through words alone.)

Me: "Oh, , you are just cute as a button."
Child: "Teacher, I ain't no button."
Me: "So, you're just cute then?"
Child: "Yes. My grandmama told me so."

Child: "Teacher Jenna, I want to be Barbie like you when I get big."

Child: "What you doing, midget?"
Me: "Honey, my name is Jenna."
Child: "I know. I was talking to my little brother."

Child: "This spiderman" (drawing on paper)
Me: "Wow. What are those next to spiderman?"
Child: "Those are his outfits, but they too small. He needs to not be so fat."
Me: "Oh."...."What is that you're drawing on spiderman?"
Child: "Those are him boobies and him penis."
(Fantastic! A transgender spiderman that is too fat for his outfits.)

Each child I work with has their own notebook where they write/trace their name, the date, and draw a picture to tell a story about, which I write down to encourage language development. One little guy always has relatively violent stories that involve monsters and police and giant robot birrds. This week he drew a picture of his dog. I was pleasantly surprised.
Child: "Teacher Jenna, I'm not going to tell a scary story this week. I want to tell you about my dog. This is my dog (points to the drawing and then continues to draw.)
Me: "Great. I'm excited to hear your story. What are you drawing next to your dog?"
Child: "Oh that's my dog's best friend. He's an evil T-rex......"

(Right before I got attacked from behind with a brush..)
Child: "Ooooh! Teacher, your
Bustin' a MoveBustin' a MoveBustin' a Move

Fun...but not as fun as later that night when we went to dance to live music from "Candela"
hair nappy!"
(It was a windy day but i didn't realize it was that bad.)

And, the question that I've been asked before but never fails to make me melt...
Child: "Teacher Jenna. I love you. You will marry me?"


Life Beyond Work
(Really?! I know its hard to believe. Most of my the kids think I live at school. They're not too far off.)

The really great thing about Madison is the amazing diversity among people and things to do. I haven't done the same thing twice (excluding paperwork) on a weekend since being back. Seeing films, going out to eat, birthday parties, dinner parties, kareoke, guitar lessons, live music, dancing, tutoring english, teaching piano, and getting help with my Spanish have kept me pretty busy. And the fun just keeps coming. Tomorrow morning, one of my best friends is returning from Asia to visit for a couple weeks and sunday marks the beginning of belly dancing lessons! Whew.

BUT, it is very possible that this hectic but fun lifestyle will be coming to an end in the next few months, as it is becoming increasingly probable that I will be teaching kindergarten abroad
She's Back!She's Back!She's Back!

All the way from Asia! Can't wait to come get you tomorrow CP!
this coming school year in South East Asia! More updates on that coming soon....

Stay on the bright side! Spring's here!














Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

My Guitar Hero!My Guitar Hero!
My Guitar Hero!

Cory and I are taking guitar lessons together. It was either that or rock climbing and being that we are both such huge klutzes, we opted for guitar. I dominate at guitar, but Cory still makes better lego spaceships than I do :)


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0676s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb