Bus Trip from DC to NYC, then Train to Secaucus Junction then to Port Jervis then ride to Barryville Oh my thats a lot of travelling!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
July 14th 2008
Published: July 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So today I leave Alexandria to go back Home to Barryville, I actually said that to Dayelle's mum on the phone I'll be coming home monday around 6.15pm and I was like Doh!!! hope she didn't hear that lol!! I had decided to get the bus instead of the Amtrak train as I would save 50 dollars! However I was really scared about getting the Bus as I had all sorts of images of sitting next to a hobo or tramp and the bus crashing or breaking down on the way, I was going to go with the Mega Bus company until I found the Washington Deluxe Bus company and just by having the word deluxe in it I was like yeah I'm gonna go for that one the website made it out to be really nice and it said clean so that was another key word I liked the sound of! lol Anyway so we leave the house at 9am I had made a reservation last night at like midnight and I had to be there 15 minutes before the bus left at 10am to keep my reservation and make sure I had a spot so we get to the address of the stop and we get out and are wandering up the street trying to see a bus stop but we don't see one then suddenly out of nowhere this guy pops up and says are you looking for the Washington Deluxe Bus Stop and he said he worked for them however he was wearing like a sports shirt, jeans and trainers and so didn't look professional at all, he told us to go over the other side of the road there were a couple of people over there lined up so we figured he wasn't lying or he'd lied to all of the people over there too lol!! So I made my way over and Carrie left and luckily all the people in the line were really nice and we were all chatting with one another when the bus came in I sat next to a cute guy who looked normal and we ended up chatting for most of the journey which was handy as it took four hours to get to Penn Station New York City. When I got there I had two hours to spare so I had some food and wandered around the station some guy bumped into my suitcase I apologised as it is pretty huge and was probably in the way and he was like no I'm sorry then he started chatting to me called me beautiful said he would like to take me out for coffee so I used my line I don't have a phone as it doesn't work out here and that I'm getting a train to my friends so wouldn't be in new york city, he was about to give me his number and I said I needed to get my ticket and walked off he didn't take the hint and he followed right next to me as I was getting my ticket I saw him queue up in a different line to get his so I legged it over to the desk and asked when the next train to my destination was and she said it was leaving now so I ran lol I got there and the train was about to leave so I heaved my case on and sat down as it was moving out I was like Crap I didn't even check if I was on the correct platform so I asked the woman next to me and she said I think it might be a non stop train to a place I'd never heard of and I was like noooooo as I needed to get a connecting train from Secaucus Junction which i thought was where this train was going. From there I had to get a connecting train to Port Jervis in just over an hour and the lady told me it was an hour to the trains destination so I was freaking out as I'd obviously have an hour journey there then have to travel an hour back, finally she was like I might be wrong though, praying she was I asked a lady sitting in the seats opposite if it went to Secaucus Jucntion she said yes it was the next stop and I could have hugged her remember it was about 3pm by this time and I'd been travelling since 10am so I get off at the next stop and have an hours wait till I get my train to Port Jervis so I spoke to my mummy which was nice and I am so excited to see her in two weeks! and I played sudoku on my phone finally I get on my train and its a two hour journey I slept for some of it then about three stops before mine I notice this tramp starts walking up and down the whole train picking up newspapers but he literally would walk up one way and about 5mins later he walked back he was totally freaking me out and I was like don't touch me lol!!
So after leaving at 9am I finally get to Port Jervis at 6.15pm and luckily Dayelle was right at the door I came out of and her dad took my suitcase down from the train I am not lying this thing ways a ton!! Then it was about 20mins drive home needless to say I had dinner then didn't do anything as I was too tired!!

Advertisement



21st July 2008

Aw
Aw that journey sounds exhausting that is indeed A LOT of travelling! But look at you attracting all the American guys! Good when they're nice but not so good when they're weird, nice one about the "phone that doesn't work" haha! Handy! -x-

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb