Open Top Sightseeing Tour, National Air and Space Museum, Ghost Tour of Old Town!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
July 11th 2008
Published: July 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I decided what better way to see the city then on an Open Top sightseeing bus so I booked my ticket last night on the internet got into the city and couldn't find the bus stops lol I asked the guy for a map in the information centre thinking it might have the stops on but no it didn't so I went back to ask if he knew where the stop for the open top bus was and he told me across the road so I trundle over to find out that it was the trolley tours bus stop which isn't even open top i couldn't be bothered to go over again and go sorry your a muppet but i asked for the open top sightseeing bus stop lol so I decided to search for it myself!! The Department of Agriculture were having a Farmers Market right where the bus stop was so I wandered over to see if there was anything yummy to buy, I ended up buying a pepperoni cheese roll which actually wasn't that great sounded good at the time! There was a guy playing guitar and singing there which was quite cool to listen to when your
Me and the Washington Monument!Me and the Washington Monument!Me and the Washington Monument!

I look like a bee in this outfit!
walking round looking at all the fresh produce! Next I wandered around trying to find my bus stop asking tons of people taking a few pictures on the way past the Washington Monument, Finally a security guy by one of the museums finally told me where to go yay! I had to wait half an hour before it arrived and it was packed i had to start off on the lower deck but as soon as I could get up to the open top deck I secured my seat and I was like I'm not moving so I sat on the top for the whole tour which was two hours! It was cool it took you round the whole city and pointed out all the museums and monuments giving you snippets of information about them. Then when I'd done the full tour I went to the Air and Space Museum and got to touch a moon rock that was the most exciting thing there lol!
Then I went home and in the evening I went into Old town again and went on a Ghost Tour of the town it was at 7.30pm so it wasn't dark but our tour leader
Union StationUnion StationUnion Station

It's huge!
had a lit candle in his holder and was dressed in period costume he was a history student so he was good at remembering all the facts he stumbled a couple of times to begin with and didn't look at anyone when he was talking but after his first joke got some laughs he relaxed and got into it! It took you round to different parts of Old Town and there were about 7 ghost stories he told but he also pointed out historical facts as we went along which was interesting! After the ghost tour we were left in a graveyard which would have been a lot scarier if it had been late at night and really dark but it was funny anyway! Then I walked back down to the waterfront and wandered along the docks before making my mile walk back to Carrie's house stopping in shops on the way up including a shop where they have two cats which wander around the shop and also sit in the display cases, above the shop is a cat sanctuary which takes in stray cats so the shop adopted the two cats, also in Hallmark the big card shop they take in kitten's from this cat sanctuary and display them in the shop so that they can be seen and and they apparantly get re homed really quickly so the woman who worked there was telling me I say woman i swear it was a man the he she man beast had a really obvious wig and really broad shoulders and just looked really manly, should have looked for the adam's apple to make sure! lol And so comes the end of another busy day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

The White House from far away The White House from far away
The White House from far away

Doesn't look that impressive does it!
Me on the bus!Me on the bus!
Me on the bus!

The National Cathedral in the background! My nose is taking over my face in this pic! lol
Strange statue of a Horse in a truck!Strange statue of a Horse in a truck!
Strange statue of a Horse in a truck!

Apparantly its outside the restaurant all the time!
George Washington's House in AlexandriaGeorge Washington's House in Alexandria
George Washington's House in Alexandria

He used to visit Alexandria a lot on business and as Mount Vernon was far away he wanted a place to stay in as taverns then were like hostels and had five people in each room, when the house was built his wife Martha requested no kitchen be built as she didn't want to have to cook whilst she was away from home!
Gatsby's Tavern Gatsby's Tavern
Gatsby's Tavern

Where George Washington ate, I walked into the Tavern but didn't eat there! lol


20th July 2008

Liz!
Liz I haven't been on the computer for a few days, I feel bad I haven't been reading your blogs, don't worry I'm not ignoring you and I haven't forgotten who you are lol! But another v good blog entry, loving the photos and the He She Man Beast HAHAHA good times! Also loving the idea of going on a ghost tour of the city, how cool, I'm singing the theme to Ghostbusters now lol! And touching the Moon Rock - how cool! -x-

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb