SEA-TAC


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
February 19th 2006
Published: February 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Make shift bedroomMake shift bedroomMake shift bedroom

Mom sleeping in the Houston Airport
It is 5 AM and Im eating a croissant and a very bitter latte (maybe the grossest latte I have ever had....THANKS STARBUCKS!) I am currently in purgatory. Not at home and not in Argentina. Just sitting and waiting for a direction. Everyone thinks I left last night, the 18th, for Houston, but guess what? I didn´t. We were so close to getting on that flight. They had put us in first class. Mama and I looked at each other, allowing ourselves on a quick glance because surely if we had said anything we would have been found out (we are not allowed to fly first class on standby because we dont work for the company.) We were In the heirarchy of flying standby we were on the bottom wrung.

After a couple of hours of sleep at a hotel, lets say two, we were back at the airport - this time we were luckier and now I find my self in Houston, at George Bush International. Waiting for 5 more hours to see if maybe we can get on the flight to Buenos Aires.

I am still very calm. It doesnt feel natural to be this calm about
My boarding pass to ArgentinaMy boarding pass to ArgentinaMy boarding pass to Argentina

Getting to Argentina didn´t look good. The flight was over sold by 2 and there were 5 people on the list of standby that had senority over us. AT least 7 people didnt show up and so we got on
leaving. No rush to finish packing and although I am running on three hours of sleep it´s not becase I am too excited to sleep. Dont get me wrong, I am excited All day I have been imagining myself in an almost unimaginable place - Argentina. Earlier I was picturing myself listening to the band Fannypack in Argentina and in my fantasy I was coming up with all these dance moves in my room. Does this mean Argentina is going to make me into an amazing choreographer? I sure as hell hope so.

Advertisement



25th February 2006

Lovely
We love the blog.

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 14; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0691s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb