Seattle, A day on the town


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
July 31st 2002
Published: July 31st 2002
Edit Blog Post

DowntownDowntownDowntown

Some of the older buildings from downtown Seattle.
We start the day off rolling into downtown Seattle, and park right outside of Vons (which is a local bar & restaurant with bad reviews) where Dave has a friend Scott that runs a Coffee Stand. Scott hooks us up with some of the best coffee I've ever had, and just kicks back chatting with us for a good 30 minutes or so. Everyone seems so friendly out here, like they all have time for you, maybe this is an illusion, but it's kinda cool, a sharp contrast from the people in Vegas. Next door to Scott’s coffee cart was a Day Spa/Beauty Salon... what a prime location this guy has. The women coming out of this place were something else. Anyway… Downtown has such an awesome atmosphere... people walking to and from work, home, pubs, where ever... everyone is walking. No one walks in Vegas!! The buildings aren't all the same, they haven't all just been built in the past 10 years, and it's really clean! Hardly any trash anywhere, and for being in the middle of the city, it wasn't all that loud.

We then went on to Alki Beach. An awesome view of Seattle from across the water,
Safeco FieldSafeco FieldSafeco Field

My first baseball game ever! Great experience, although I was busy walking all over the stadium, and not paying attention to the game.
and supposedly the only sand beach in Seattle. The houses were beautiful around here... but then again, it seems that every time I blink I'm surrounded by big beautiful houses that I could never afford. We got out and walked down the beach, people were out playing volleyball, and sunbathing in the sweltering 74 degree heat. Get this, I actually got a sunburn!! That I don't get. We also took a quick drive down Pike Place Market, an overly crowded marketplace right on the waterfront, which from what I hear is one of those places where people throw fishes all over the place and wrap them with amazing speed. I want to go back down there and check it out a little more.

Another friend of mine that lives up there, Jeremy, called me up in the morning, and told me he'd got the hook up for a Mariners baseball game, and had an extra ticket. What the heck... I've never been to a ball game before. So we met up with him at the Pyramid Brewery outside the Stadium for a few drinks. After a few micro brews, off we went. Damn, this Stadium (Safeco Field) is HUGE! Of course, I've never
The CityThe CityThe City

This is a picture of Seattle from Alki Beach across the bay.
really been in any stadium before, so I guess they'd all seem big to me, but I was tripping out. Spendy too... I went through quite a bit of money just buying a little food and drinks. We had great seats though, 20 rows up just right behind the Mariners dugout at 1st base. I walked all over the stadium, took a few pictures, and checked out all the Japanese girls that were there checking out and worshiping Ichiro (a native from Japan who made it big in the US Major League)! I can't even count how many of them I saw, all wearing Kimonos, with the number 51 painted on there faces.

So Seattle went on to win the game, the Garlic fries I’d bought seemed to defeat my stomach, and off to Pioneer Square I walked. Pioneer Square is a really popular nightclub/bar section of downtown Seattle, bristling with the young crowd. About a 10 minute walk, and I'm outside this nightclubby little bar called J & M's Cafe. Oh joy of joy, tonight was Ladies night, which means the men get taxed with an $8 cover! What made this worse was the Navy ships had all
SunsetSunsetSunset

The Sunset as seen from the top of the stadium. Setting between two oil derricks.
come into port for the weekend, some big show, or something going on, so the place was full of sailors... ugh! Reminded me of Tech School in the Air Force and trying to go out to bars there. Oh well, my stomach was still a little messed up from either the previous nights drinking, or the Garlic fries, not sure exactly, so we left around midnight, and called it a night.



Advertisement



23rd April 2004

Picutre..
That last picture.. of the sunset. The sun is setting between two water front cranes.. not oil dikes.. this isn't texas or alaska. Those are big cargo moving shipping cranes.. :)

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 20; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0808s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb