Dos Padres prep their Steeds


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
May 13th 2009
Published: May 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The V-Strom DL650The V-Strom DL650The V-Strom DL650

Reverend Bill's dualsport Suzuki is fitted with numerous add-ons to make it a conspicuous daily commuter, a long distance tourer, and protect it in off-pavement excursions. Multi-purpose? You betcha!
Bill:
A trip of a thousand miles begins with a single step. And a trip begins with a thousand freaking details.
Over coffee and cupcakes at the West Seattle Cupcake Royale (shameless plug!) Brother Chuck and I recently made our final plans for the ride to Utah.
The Plan: leave Monday May 18 and return Sunday May 31st. The destination: Utah, desert, twistys, gravel, dirt, campfires, stars, avoid the slab.
Reverend Chuck and I have been making final preparations to our bikes: Chuck's BMW R1150GS and my Suzuki DL650. We've both added handlebar risers and metal footpegs to aid in standing in the saddle. An oil change, installing a radiator guard, wiring the topbox to charge the lap-top are some of the last minute details that require my attention.
Brother Chuck works as a Motorcycle Safety Foundation Riding Instructor and has just returned from off-road riding school in California. He'll serve as riding mentor/coach and instructor for the off-pavement adventure. As an OR Nurse with EMT training, I will carry the band-aids. I'm especially eager to learn how to pick up my bike, and Chuck has limited but recent experience to share.
On a
BMW R1150GSBMW R1150GSBMW R1150GS

Reverend Chuck's classic Gelände/Straße is equipped with wicked driving lights, stout aluminum panniers, custom gel seat and more. This Teutonic beauty can rip highway miles all day and subsides as well on a diet of dirt and gravel.
charter boat the clients typically put up a pool for first fish, most fish and biggest fish. We'll have to see who wins honors in first get-off, most get-offs, and biggest get-off!
We're old and wise enough to go slowly (to a degree) but let's hope we're slow enough to avoid injury and sheer stupidity. These aren't dirtbikes, fer crissakes. Just dualsports with a pavement bias. These machines are able to take us to some remote and remarkable places our roadbikes dare not tread.
Stay tuned. It could get interesting. And keep the faith.
-Reverend Bill

Chuck:
When Brother Bill and I first started discussing this trip, I was, well, frankly ill prepared. I had no motorcycle to ride in this fashion, I had no skills or experience to call forth to carry me through, and I had landed a part time job that really necessitated that I be in the area during the time discussed.
The one thing, really the only thing that I had was the one thing that I needed at the time, Faith.
As days and weeks grew closer and discussions turned more serious things started working out, a motorcycle was procured , a training class was found and attended, lessons learned, experiences broadened and days passed.. my faith grew daily as well.. not just that the trip would become a reality, but each day my true faith grows.
I welcome those of you who I have not had much contact with of late, and you who had no idea this trip was in the planning stages, now a reality. Sit back and enjoy some of our trip in the days and weeks that follow. I hope you enjoy, but more than that, I hope your faith grows, and that you expand your limits as well.
-Reverend Chuck




Advertisement



18th May 2009

Via con Dios
I wish you two a grand adventure. I'll admit my faith is not always as strong as Chuck's. I even spoke with my veterinarien about have a chip imbedded in my honey's fanny. I was told it would only be of value if you two stumbled into a pound without your collars on. While I'm happy that Bill can do field sutures and that it will be virtually imposible for Chuck to text while driving his bike. I'll be delirious if you both come back safely with few wounds and many a story to tell. Happy trails!
23rd May 2009

..just a Dakota Roller, for now;>
Hey dad! just got home and im checkin out your trip. looks awesome! be safe the both of you. i'll try to keep up.

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb