Visit To Leavenworth


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Leavenworth
August 16th 2015
Published: August 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Visit to Leavenworth



No not the prison. The little town 17 miles down the windy mountain road that is a Bavarian replica.

I left Oscar home in the air conditioned camper and headed straight for the office to see if the smoke I was seeing and smelling was something I should worry about. They assured me the fire was miles away, the wind was just blowing our way. Feeling better I headed for town to see what this wonderful place was all about.

It must be good, there was no parking. I followed Lisa's philosophy and knew I'd find a spot. Sure enough someone pulled out and I pulled in, just like that. The whole town is made of Bavarian style homes and shops with German names and the most gorgeous flowers. See pictures.

I had a list of things I wanted to look at and in the process came upon a band playing in the park area. I sat there and listened for a while and enjoyed their music and enthusiasm. The band had been together for 25 years. Next it was lunch at the Munchen Haus and I had a bratwurst with one of 15 different mustards and sauerkraut and of course, a beer. It was order at the window, wait at the counter and find a table outside. The patio was lined with more beautiful flowers and they were misted almost continuously. The food was wonderful and enjoyed by half the population of Washington. It was very crowded.

On my way back to the car I got a huckleberry ice cream cone and sat on a bench on the sidewalk watching the world go by. Nobody was in a hurry, just enjoying the day and what little sun could peak out through the smoke. The smoke was really thick in town and I was ready to head back and breath some mountain air again.

Oscar was glad to see me, it was his dinner time. I read my book for a little while, took a quick nap then did some chores and came in for the night.

I'm moving tomorrow so I have to figure out the route and time involved. Early to bed tonight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb