Day 23 - Breakfast at the loghouse, Wayne Henderson and Final day at Galax


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia
August 7th 2009
Published: December 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Friday

Today was a big day as well.

Martha and Jackson took me to the loghouse to have breakfast, where I had my first "Biscuits and Gravy". It was nice, but we ordered a lot, so I took a doggy bag home for later.

After that we visited Wayne Henderson, famous guitar maker in the area. Fortunately he was home and we got to check out his workshop and play one of his guitars. He was really nice guy and great guitar picker.

After a bit of a rest, we got ready to attend what would be my final visit to Galax Fiddler's Convention. Only Martha and I would go as Jackson and the others were busy. It proved to be a really great day of watching the bands, meeting some more of Martha's friends, picking, and just soaking up the great atmosphere.

I've got some great photos (and a lot of them) in this entry, so I hope you enjoy them.


Additional photos below
Photos: 63, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Wayne's MandolinWayne's Mandolin
Wayne's Mandolin

We were expecting to see a guitar, but Wayne was working on a mandolin. He makes them every now and then.
Guitar ribs bending machineGuitar ribs bending machine
Guitar ribs bending machine

Well that's what I call it, not sure of the technical term.
Some guitar bodiesSome guitar bodies
Some guitar bodies

Waiting for the next step
A visitorA visitor
A visitor

Wayne constantly has visitors from all over dropping by. I think these people were from Indiana
Beautiful LookoutBeautiful Lookout
Beautiful Lookout

Martha suggested we check out a nice lookout near Wayne's house.


Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0918s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb