Lynchburg Past and PRESENT


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia
February 11th 2008
Published: February 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Currier'sThe Currier'sThe Currier's

From left to right on the couch: Kellum, Shelah, Budge, Violet, Mia and GrandMa. Derek is in the back.
Okay, finally getting around to updating my blog again. This time I'm going to write a little about the PRESENT! Lynchburg was on my list of places to stop because I wanted to visit with good friends of mine the Curriers. I first met Budge and his family while teaching at the Academy. Budge was in the Marine Corps and just had a great sense of balancing work with family with fitness. And when it came to teaching he had all the rigor of a Marine while still managing to make his class so much fun that he fooled even the most reluctant jocks into learning something about Electrical Engineering. What a trick? Obviously, I hung around a lot trying to learn how to teach and live better 😊 Then after meeting Shelah and the kids (only three at the time) Derek, Kellum and Mia I came to find out they had just as much fun at home as well. Plus they loved my beagles... I was sold, friends for life.
It was great to visit them on this trip. I got to meet two additional members of their family, Shelah's mom and their 20 month-old daughter, Violet. We watched the superbowl and caught up on life. It was a great visit. I even spent some time trying to learn how to, not skateboard, but something like wakeboard? It only has two wheels and is flexible. There's a picture of us trying it. We fooled around with learning until both Budge and I took nasty spills. Kellum and Mia were both obviously better....lower center of gravity, ha!
Also, I have to mention just how adorable Violet is. She is hilarious. At 20 months she's not speaking much but she understands EVERYTHING and does all her communicating via super funny facial expressions. She is also a dog lover and spent a good amount of time crawling into the pups' crate and the three of them hanging out in their own "tent."
I'm so glad I doubled back to visit them, I can't wait to catch up with them again soon. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

MiaMia
Mia

While we played with HER new Christmas gift, Mia went traditional. Thanks, Mia
Kellum Speeds ByKellum Speeds By
Kellum Speeds By

The resident expert.
Budge on the BoardBudge on the Board
Budge on the Board

Pre-crash obviously :)
Me on the BoardMe on the Board
Me on the Board

Litterally, right before I crashed on that patch of grass, I still have the bruise on my knee, 10 days later!!!
Me and VioletMe and Violet
Me and Violet

Look how funny she is! Kellum's in the back. Pre-Superbowl.
Currier Family CandidCurrier Family Candid
Currier Family Candid

Before, "one two three, cheese!"


Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0154s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb