Lynchburg, VA Where PAST Meets Present


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia
February 9th 2008
Published: February 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

House Where Dad Grew UpHouse Where Dad Grew UpHouse Where Dad Grew Up

Grandpa and Grandma designed this house and lived here during the early 50's (I think)
I capitalized PAST in the title because I wanted to make two entries about Lynchburg, one talking about the past, the 2nd about the present. My second day in Lynchburg, Aunt Mary Katherine happened to call and encouraged me to drive past some of the landmarks in our family history. I had no idea Lynchburg was as large as it actually is and didn't know Randolf-Macon University was there. It is a beautiful campus, quite close to where Grandpa and Grandma lived.
As you can tell from the pictures, I also went downtown. I liked that the city was so vertical. They even had a public elevator. It reminded me a little of Lisbon, Portugal in that way. For breakfast that day, I went to Famous Anthony's (a little outside of the city) where I had a huge sugar infused cinnamon bun with a whole mess of cream cheese icing on top.... Hard to maintain weight when you're traveling 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Hospital in LynchburgHospital in Lynchburg
Hospital in Lynchburg

This was the hospital close to home, that Grandma Ann (whom I was named after) was in and out of before her untimely early death.
From the top of the stairs, looking downFrom the top of the stairs, looking down
From the top of the stairs, looking down

The building on the left, at the bottom of the stairs, is where Grandpa worked while living in Lynchburg, consulting for the paper mill.


12th February 2008

Hey There
Ann, I finally got around to catching up on your Blog. Nice going. I'm impressed at you sticking with the Blog. I would've peetered out. Looks like you're haveing a nice trip, hopefully not too cold though. I'm glad to see you've made it to A school, I was getting worried it would turn into a road trip for the dogs (which oh by the way, I finally got to see a picture off them). So what is your itenerary...or are you winging it? If it gets too cold for you, come out to Hawaii for a break ;) Charles
14th February 2008

Finally touching base
Hey!!! It's great to hear from you. How's it going? Thanks for reading my blog, I have to admit, it's tough to keep up with it since I don't relish writing. I do have a loose itinerary but it seems to change every two days or so. My dad asked that I post a tentative one, so I'll probably try to do that today. I hope everything's going well with you guys. And I'll keep your invite to HI in mind. Tough to drive to though :)

Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb