Deathly Hallows...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Vermont » Rutland
July 21st 2007
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Mom had to work today, which worked out perfectly since my copy of Deathly Hallows was due to be delivered- surprisingly it arrived at 10 am!

SPOILER ALERT


So I settled into the porch with a case of Killian's and my book. During the 10 hours it took me to read the 784 pages I managed to eat a tray of sushi and a fluffernutter sandwich, and get a really random sunburn on my right arm and inside left calf. I did take a 2 hour break to walk to downtown for dinner with my mom. The brie and apple ravioli was so good! Love that North Boston influence. Rutland is definitely a weird old mill town, but quiet for the most part. I love all the old Victorians! And Ben and Jerry's ice cream 😊


Okay the book-

Since I didn't have internet access while I was reading it or for a week after, I have had a lot of time to mourn the deaths and consider the book as a stand alone story, and the conclusion to this incredible series. While I don't think this is the tightest installment in the series, I loved it for itself: the adventure and the messages were in line with what I was expecting, but YAY! for the twists! It gives us a few more months of arguing 😊

I thought JKR stayed true to her intentions, but I am still not sold on the 'resurrection' of Harry. I am hoping that will come with the second or third reading. I am just glad he didn't return only for Ginny! If anything JKR has brought trials of life to equal or surpass Romantic notions. Since I am a big believer that the whole Jesus (or any prophet/messiah) story is based on myths to orally instruct the next generation (note: I am not arguing against a god/dess/es, just rolling my eyes at the arguing between and within 'organized' religion), I think she effectly rewrote those themes into a modern tale. The interplay with the allegory for the present world was equally powerful- I just hope it can comfort the disturbed AND disturb the comforted to get their guns the fuck out of other countries' business, and actually go some good works instead.

Off soap box.

I can't wait to re-read the whole series!!



Advertisement



27th July 2007

you nailed it
And you totally nailed the Snape/Lily thing. Brilliant.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb