Skiing: How to Conquer Bum Knees


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah
February 22nd 2011
Published: February 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today I awoke to knees that seemed to have almost miraculously healed. Apparently, this trip is filled with famous last thoughts. After breakfast, the donning of winter clothing, and a fifteen minute drive to the Ski Lodge, I found myself returning to meet my nemesis, the Green Ski Runs. Armed with only two Tylenol, grim determination, and part guilt trip, I grimly made my way to the bunny hill, determined to win against these hills of snow. My lovely companion for the day was Audrey, who was also feeling hesitant to go on any major hills that day. We joked around, skiied, and I didn't feel an ounce of pain.

I felt my first twinges of pain in my knee, however, after an hour or so of skiing and Audrey and I sat down for a few minutes before getting a call from Terry telling us he'd found great runs that were easy and gradual (for those who don't ski, that means the hills will not kill you with their sudden steep drops). I figured since my knee wasn't hurting that much, I would be able to do at least ONE green run. So up Audrey and I went, past towering trees and ski runs that looked like they had killed more than one man. We made it to the top (bypassing the awesome blue hill that I took a tumble on the day before) and were then informed we would eat food before going on the runs, which was fine with me, because my knee was beginning to hurt.

After lunch that consisted of a burger, fries, and a cookie the size of my head (what kind of oven even COOKS those kinds of cookies!??! I feel as Europeans must when they're served their first American plates of food and wondering why weren't not even FATTER than previously thought.), Audrey, Albany, and I went to go take yet another ski lift to the green runs. The lift took us high up on the mountain where we were greeted by clouds, fog, wind, and snow that was rapidly turning heavy. Once at the top we quickly made our way to the run.

At first all seemed well, I was even skiing without my knees chanting 'we hurt, we hurt'. I went fast down hills and snaked like I had been told, and my knees didn't even protest when I put pressure on them to slow down. However this wonderful sensation was to be short lived. Half way through the second green ski run my knees began to hurt greatly, and I had to take a breath every few hundred feet or so. It wasn't as bad as yesterday, when my legs shook every time I stopped, but I knew if I was feeling pain even with the medication, it probably wasn't a good sign.

I made it down, and though I WANTED to ski, I knew that the Greens had won this round by a narrow margin. Defeated, I went to the ski lodge we had eaten lunch at. On battered knees, overstrung tendons, and ski shoes, I walked up and down stairs trying to find a place that served Tylenol. It took two flights of stairs, but I found one, and after another slow procession up two flights of stairs, I was tucked into the safety of the Ski Lodge. I managed to get a table near a window and propped my legs up on a spare chair. Apparently this was a signal, for others defeated by the Ski Runs came to my table and asked if they could sit there before they promptly popped pain pills and rubbed whatever area was affected. Who knew!?

The rest of the day was fairly mellow, and most of the kids were getting tired by two or three, so we called it a day and headed home. By now my knees were screaming mutiny, not that I could do much about it. When we arrived home I fell to my bed and slept for an hour before being woken and asked if I wanted to go dinner. Apparently they would also be walking, and I declined, deciding I had murdered my knees enough for one day. I scrounged up food from the meager supplies left from four kids eating (and not very good shopping habits). It was a choice between hot dogs and chips or crackers. Hot dogs won. When they arrived home I was told I was lucky, because the wind had picked up and they had to walk up and down hill in it, and brought with them advil. So all in all I won!

I concluded the main events of the day by singing 'I know a song that gets on everybody's nerves' with the girls. Tomorrow is Snow Mobile day. I can only hope and pray that my knees will not be needed. And now, for some hot cocoa.




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



23rd February 2011

OOO!!! i wanna go snow mobileing! YOur so lucky you poo!
24th February 2011

LOL! Sorry Dana XD

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.059s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb